The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA

ARINS Advisory Group

  • Fidelma Ashe

    PhD Professor of Politics and Member of the Transitional Justice Institute
  • Professor Colin Barr

    Professor, University of Notre Dame
  • Alan Michael Barrett

    BA(Dubl 1989), MA(Michigan State 1991), PhD(Michigan State 1994). Honorary Fellow, Society of Actuaries of Ireland Research Fellow, Institute for Labor Economics, Germany Director, Economic and Social Research Institute Member, PL&A 2019
  • Daniel Carey

    BA(McGill 1984), MPhil(Dubl 1987), DPhil(Oxon 1993). RIA PL&A Secretary, Member of the ALLEA Working Group for the European Research Area Professor, Director, Moore Institute for the Humanities and Social Sciences, University of Galway Member, PL&A 2014
  • Marie Cowan

    Diploma(Institute of Directors 2020), Certificate(Institute of Directors 2019), PhD(QUB 2002), BSc(QUB 1995) Director, Geological Survey of Northern Ireland Member, Science 2020
  • Mr Pauric Dempsey

    Executive Director (Dublin), Keough Naughton Institute of Irish Studies
  • John Doyle

    Director, Dublin City University, Institute for International Conflict Resolution and Reconstruction
  • John FitzGerald

    BA, MA, MEconSc(NUI) Research Professor, ESRI Member, PL&A 2011
  • David Gavaghan

    BA (Hons) TCD Real Estate Fund Manager
  • Cathy Gormley-Heenan

    Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and External affairs, Ulster University)
  • Patrick Griffin

    PhD Madden-Hennebry Professor of History and Director, Keough-Naughton Institute for Irish Studies, University of Notre Dame
  • Colin Harvey

    Professor of Human Rights Law
  • Katy Hayward

    PhD Professor of Political Sociology, Queen's University Belfast
  • Alvin Jackson

    MA, DPhil(Oxon 1986) Sir Richard Lodge Professor of History, Edinburgh Honorary Member, PL&A 2014
  • David A Lavery, CB

    Chief Executive, Law Society of Northern Ireland
  • Tobias Lock

    Jean Monnet Chair in EU Law and Fundamental Rights
  • John Christopher McCrudden

    LLB(QUB 1974), LLM(Yale 1975), MA(Oxon 1980), DPhil(Oxon 1981), DCL(Oxon 2017), LLD(hc), FBA. CBE Professor of Human Rights and Equality Law, QUB Member, PL&A 2018
  • Patrick Gerald McKenna

    BSc(UU 1976), PhD(QUB 1979), DSc(hc NUI), LLD(hc QUB). FSB, CBiol, FIBMS, FRSA Member of Seven Academies Group Hon Executive Secretary and President Emeritus, Heads of University Centres of Biomedical Science (HUCBMS), Professor Emeritus and former Vice Chancellor, UU Member, Science 2001
  • Duncan Morrow

    Professor of Politics and Director of Community Engagement, UU
  • Mary C. Murphy

    Senior Lecturer and Jean Monnet Chair in European Integration, University College Cork
  • Colin Murphy

    BA (UCD 1997), MA (Wits University 2008) Columnist, Sunday Independent, & playwright
  • Noelle O Connell

    CEO European Movement Ireland
  • Brendan O'Leary

    BA(Oxon 1981), MA(UPenn), PhD(LSE) University of Pennsylvania Honorary Member, PL&A 2016
  • Fintan O'Toole

    BA(NUI 1978) Journalist and University Lecturer, Irish Times and Princeton University Member, PL&A 2020


Support the future of sciences & humanities in Ireland

Make a donation