The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA


  • Liam P Barry

    BE, MEngSc (NUI 1991, 1993), PhD (Univ of Rennes 1996). FInstP, SMIEEE, MOSA. Professor of Photonics Systems & Co-PI IPIC, DCU Member, Science 2019
  • Steven Ernest John Bell

    PhD (QUB 1986), BSc (QUB 1983), FRSC (2012), FICI (2020). RIA Vice President for Research Professor of Physical Chemistry, QUB Member, Science 2020
  • Geraldine B Boylan

    MA (UCC) MSc (UCL) PhD (KCL) Professor of Neonatal Physiology, UCC Member, Science 2022
  • Daniel Carey

    BA(McGill 1984), MPhil(Dubl 1987), DPhil(Oxon 1993). RIA Secretary, Member of the ALLEA Working Group for the European Research Area Professor of English, University of Galway Member, PL&A 2014
  • Janice Carruthers

    BA, MPhil, PhD(Cantab) Professor of French Linguistics, QUB Member, PL&A 2021
  • Claire Connolly

    FLSW. BA, MA(NUI), PhD(Wales 1995). RIA PL&A Secretary Professor of Modern English, UCC Member, PL&A 2018
  • Marie Cowan

    BSc (QUB), PhD (QUB), Dip(IoD). PGeo (IGI) Director, Geological Survey of Northern Ireland Member, Science 2020
  • Mary Rita Doyle

    BCs European Studies (NUI 1977), MSc (Mgt) Policy and International Relations Secretary Member, PL&A 2022
  • David Farrell

    BA, MA(NUI), PhD (European University Institute) RIA Vice President for Sustainability and Engagement Chair of Politics, UCD. Member, PL&A 2013
  • Patrick Jerome Guiry

    BSc, PhD, FRSC, FICI. RIA President Professor of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Head of School of Chemistry and Chemical Biology and Director of the Centre for Synthesis and Chemical Biology, UCD Member, Science 2013
  • Mary Kelly

    BA, PhD (Dubl, 1987,1984), MBA(DCU,1992), DSc (hc Dubl,2022) RIA Treasurer Former Director General, Environmental Protection Agency Member, Science 2007
  • Noel Lowndes

    BA (Dubl 1983), PhD (Glasgow 1987). RIA Secretary for Science Professor, Biochemistry, University of Galway Member, Science 2017
  • James Gerard Lunney

    BSc, PhD (QUB 1974, 1980) Emeritus Professor in Physics, TCD Member, Science 2008
  • Imelda Maher

    BCL(NUI), LLM(Temple) BL(King's Inns). RIA Senior Vice-President Sutherland Full Professor of European Law, UCD Member, PL&A 2011
  • Noel Gerard McElvaney

    MB, BCh BAO(NUI 1982), MRCPI 1984, FRCPC 1991, FRCPC 1992, FRCPI 1996, DSc(NUI 2019) Professor of Medicine, RCSI Member, Science 2021
  • Helene M McNulty

    BSc (Dubl 1987), Dip (DIT 1987), PhD (Dubl 1992). Director, Nutrition Innovation Centre for Food and Health (NICHE; 2016-) and Professor, Nutritional Sciences, UU Member, Science 2008
  • Eucharia Meehan

    PhD (NUI 1993), PgDip(Dubl 1996), CDipAF(ACCA 1998) Registrar and CEO, DIAS Member, Science 2017
  • Máire B Ní Annracháin

    PhD (NUI 1988), MA (NUI 1978). Chair Coiste Léann na Gaeilge agus an Léinn Cheiltigh Ollamh Sinsearach Emeritus / Full Professor Emeritus of Modern Irish, UCD Member, PL&A 2020
  • Pól Ó Dochartaigh

    BA(Cardiff 1987), BA(Ulster 2004), PhD(Nottm 1995), DLitt(Nottm 2019), FRHistS, FHEA, FRSA. Established Professor of European History, University of Galway Member, PL&A 2010
  • Lorraine O'Driscoll

    PhD(DCU 1995), MSc(NUI 1991), BSc(NUI 1989), MA jo(Dubl, 2012), FTCD(2012), FRSB(2020), RIA Vice President for Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Full Professor of Pharmacology and Biomedicine , TCD Member, Science 2021
  • Finola O'Kane Crimmins

    BArch, PhD (NUI) Chair of Study of Languages, Literature, Culture and Communication Committee Professor, School of Architecture, Planning & Environmental Policy, UCD Member, PL&A 2017
  • Colm Antoine O'Morain

    MD(NUI 1982) MSc(London 1983), DIPImm(London1984), MA(Dubl 2004), FRCPI(1985), FRCP(London 2002), FACG(US2003), aGAF(US2004), FEBG(2005), DSc(London 1998), DSc(hc Athens 2007). National lead Gastroenterology, Emeritus Professor of Medicine, TCD Member, Science 2011
  • Filipe Ribeiro de Meneses

    BA , PhD(Dubl 1992, 1996). Professor of History, MU Member, PL&A 2017
  • Virginia Teehan

    BA Dip.Arch.Sc., (NUI 1983; 1984) M.Phil., (TCD 1987); MBA (UCC, 2019) Chief Executive Officer, Heritage Council Member, PL&A 2022

Support the future of sciences & humanities in Ireland

Make a donation