The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA

Higher Education Futures

  • Mark Edward Bailey

    BA, MSc, MA, PhD Emeritus Director, Armagh Observatory Member, Science 2010
  • Vani Kant Borooah

    MA(Bombay 1969), PhD(Southampton 1978) Professor of Applied Economics, UU Member, PL&A 2006
  • Jennifer Brennan

    Director of Research, Development and Innovation, THEA
  • Marie Cowan

    Diploma(Institute of Directors 2020), Certificate(Institute of Directors 2019), PhD(QUB 2002), BSc(QUB 1995) Director, Geological Survey of Northern Ireland Member, Science 2020
  • Michael Creane

    Research Fellow, NUIG
  • Lorna Fitzpatrick

    Union of Students in Ireland
  • Emma Flynn

    Pro-Vice Chancellor for Research and Enterprise, QUB
  • Anne Fuchs

    FBA. State Examination(Konstanz 1987) MA(Konstanz 1988) D.Phil.(Konstanz 1992). Professor and Director, Humanities Institute of Ireland, UCD Member, PL&A 2009
  • Áine Hyland

    BA(NUI 1966), MEd(Dubl 1975), PhD(Dubl 1982), DLitt(hc NUI 2015), DSc(hc RCSI 2016) Chair of Social Sciences Committee Emeritus Professor, UCC Member, PL&A 2018
  • Ebun Joseph

    Race relations consultant, Module Coordinator and Lecturer, Black Studies , UCD
  • Karl Leydecker

    FRSE Senior Vice-Principal and Professor, University of Aberdeen
  • Brian Dominic MacCraith

    BSc, MSc, PhD(NUI) President, DCU Member, Science 2007
  • Martin George Southcote Mansergh

    BA(Oxon 1969, MA(Oxon 1974), DPhil(Oxon 1974), Doctorate(hc NUI 2017) Vice-Chair of the Expert Advisory Group on Commemorations Member, PL&A 2018
  • Hannah McGee

    Professor of Psychology and Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, RCSI
  • Claire McGing

    Senior management team, IADT
  • Patrick Gerald McKenna

    BSc(UU 1976), PhD(QUB 1979), DSc(hc NUI), LLD(hc QUB). FSB, CBiol, FIBMS, FRSA Member of Seven Academies Group Hon Executive Secretary and President Emeritus, Heads of University Centres of Biomedical Science (HUCBMS), Professor Emeritus and former Vice Chancellor, UU Member, Science 2001
  • Helene M McNulty

    BSc(Dubl 1987), Dip(DIT 1987), PhD(Dubl 1992). Director, Nutrition Innovation Centre for Food and Health (NICHE; 2016-) and Professor, Nutritional Sciences, UU Member, Science 2008
  • Eucharia Meehan

    PhD(NUI 1993), PgDip(Dubl 1996), CDipAF(ACCA 1998). Registrar and CEO, DIAS Member, Science 2017
  • Jim Miley

    Director General, IUA
  • Michael Murphy

    European University Association
  • Brian Norton

    BSc(Nottm 1977), MSc(Cranfield 1979), PhD(Cranfield 1983), DSc(Nottm 1993), DUniv(hc), (UTTroyes 2021). FIAE, HonFCIBSE, CEng. Secretary for Policy and International Relations, Chair of Policy Oversight Group Head of Energy Research, Tyndall National Institute Member, Science 2016
  • Anne O'Connor

    Vice-Chair of Study of Languages, Literature, Culture and Communication Committee Senior Lecturer, NUIG
  • Sinéad Riordan

    Head of Policy and International Relations, Policy and International Relations


Support the future of sciences & humanities in Ireland

Make a donation