The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA


  • Sir Kenneth Percy Bloomfield

    BA, MA(Oxon 1952, 1956), LLD(hc QUB 1991), DUniv(hc Open University 2000), DLitt(hc Ulster 2002) Writer and former Chairman, Northern Ireland Higher Education Council Member, PL&A 2008
  • John Boardman

    Emeritus Lincoln College Professor of Classical Art and Archaeology, University of Oxford Honorary Member, PL&A 1986
  • Walter Fred Bodmer

    BA, MA, PhD(Cantab), DSc(hc Bath, Oxon, Hull, Edin, Bristol, Loughborough, Lanc, Aberdeen, Plymouth, Lond, Salford, UMIST, Surrey), Dr(hc Leuven, Masaryk), MD (hc), FRS College Principal and Emeritus Professor, University of Oxford Honorary Member, Science 1998
  • John Boland

    BSc(NUI 1979), PhD(California Institute of Technology 1984) Director, Centre for Research on Adaptive Nanostructure and Nanodevices (CRANN), TCD Member, Science 2010
  • Vani Kant Borooah

    MA(Bombay 1969), PhD(Southampton 1978) Professor of Applied Economics, UU Member, PL&A 2006
  • Angela Bourke

    BA, MA, PhD(NUI 1972, 1974, 1983) Emerita Professor of Irish-Language Studies, UCD Member, PL&A 2004
  • Andrew Bowie

    BA(Dubl 1993), PhD(Dubl 1997). FTCD Head of Immunology and Professor of Immunology, TCD Member, Science 2014
  • Peter John Bowler

    BA(Cantab), MSc(Sussex), PhD(Toronto). FBA Retired Professor, QUB Member, PL&A 1993
  • Derek Raymond Boyd

    BSc, PhD, DSc(QUB 1963, 1966, 1977) Emeritus Professor of Organic Chemistry, QUB Member, Science 2004
  • Geraldine B Boylan

    MA(NUI 2008), PhD(Kings College London 2002), MSc(University of London, 1991) Professor of Neonatal Physiology, UCC Member, Science 2022
  • Gerard Eugene Boyle

    BA(NUI 1977), MA(NUI 1978), PhD(NUI 1978) Director, Teagasc Member, PL&A 2010
  • Professor Daniel Gerard Mary Bradley

    BA, MA(Cantab), PhD(Dubl), FTCD Professor of Population Genetics Member, Science 2009
  • Hugh R Brady

    MBBCh, BAO, BSc, PhD, MD(NUI) Former President, UCD Member, Science 2009
  • Ciaran Francis Brady

    BA(Dubl 1974), PhD(1982 Dubl) Professor of Early Modern History and Historiography, TCD Member, PL&A 2014
  • John Brannigan

    BA(Thames Polytechnic, London 1991), MA(NUI 1992), PhD(Luton 1996) Professor of English, UCD Member, PL&A 2021
  • Fran Brearton

    BA(Durham 1990), MA(QUB 1993), PhD(Durham 1998) Professor of Modern Poetry, QUB Member, PL&A 2018
  • Pádraig A Breatnach

    MA(NUI), DPhil(Munich) Professor of Classical Irish, UCD 1986-2006; editor of Éigse: A Journal of Irish Studies (NUI). Senior Professor, DIAS Member, PL&A 2003
  • Liam Breatnach

    Senior Professor, DIAS Member, PL&A 2000
  • Caoimhín Breatnach

    BA, MA, PhD(NUI 1981,1984,1990) Senior Lecturer, UCD Member, PL&A 2010
  • Richard Breen

    MA, PhD(Cantab), FBA Professor of Sociology and Fellow, Nuffield College Member, PL&A 1998
  • Loretta Glucksman Brennan

    Member, PL&A 2004
  • Niamh Máire Brennan

    BSc(NUI 1976), PhD(Warwick 1995), Fellow Chartered Accountants Ireland (1979), Chartered Director, Institute of Directors (London 2007) Michael MacCormac Professor of Management, UCD Member, PL&A 2020
  • John David Brewer

    BA(Nottm 1973), MSSc(Birm 1976), DSSc(hc Brunel 2012) FRSE Vice-Chair of Social Sciences Committee Professor of Post Conflict Studies, QUB Member, PL&A 2004
  • Maurice J. Bric

    MA(NUI), AM, PhD(Johns Hopkins) Associate Professor of History, UCD Member, PL&A 2000
  • Derek E.G Briggs

    BA(Dubl), PhD(Cantab), ScD(hc Dubl) G. Evelyn Hutchinson Professor of Geology and Geophysics, and Curator-in-charge, Invertebrate Paleontology, Yale University Honorary Member, Science 2003


Support the future of sciences & humanities in Ireland

Make a donation