The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA


  • James Joseph Alexander Heffron

    DSc, PhD, BSc, MRIA, FRSC, CChem Professor of Biochemistry, UCC Member, Science 1992
  • Anthony Francis Hegarty

    BSc, PhD, DSc(NUI). FRSC Emeritus Professor of Organic Chemistry, UCD Member, Science 1981
  • John Hegarty

    BSc, MA, PhD(NUI), ScD Provost Emeritus, Professor of Laser Physics, TCD Member, Science 1992
  • David Neil Hempton

    BA(QUB 1974), PhD(St. Andrews 1977), DLitt(QUB 2013) Dean of Harvard Divinity School, Harvard University Honorary Member, PL&A 2019
  • Máire R. M. Herbert

    BA, MA(NUI), PhD(Cantab) Associate Professor of Early and Medieval Irish, UCC Member, PL&A 1996
  • Michael W Herren

    BA (Calif), MSL (PIMS, Toronto), PhD (Toronto), FRSC, FMAA Professor Emeritus of Classics and Distinguished Research Professor in English Literature, York University, Toronto Honorary Member, PL&A 2002
  • Andreas Hess

    Diploma(Mercator University 1989), PhD(Free University Berlin 1993) Professor in Sociology, UCD Member, PL&A 2022
  • Alan Hibbert

    MA, DPhil(Oxon 1967) Emeritus Professor of Applied Mathematics, QUB Member, Science 2000
  • Desmond Gerard Higgins

    BA, PhD(Dubl 1981, 1988) Professor of Bioinformanics, UCD Member, Science 2007
  • Michael Daniel Higgins

    LLD(hc NUIG). HonFTCD President of Ireland Member, PL&A 2011
  • Jacqueline Rhoda Hill

    BA, PhD(Leeds 1969, 1973) Professor of History, Maynooth Member, PL&A 2008
  • Colin Hill

    BSc, MSc, PhD, DSc(NUI 1982,1984, 1988, 2005) Professor of Microbial Food Safety, UCC Member, Science 2009
  • Susan Hockfield

    Former William Edward Gilbert Professor of Neurobiology and Provost, Yale University and President Emerita, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Honorary Member, Science 2010
  • Gerard Hogan

    BCL(NUI 1979), LL.M(NUI 1981), LL.M(Penn 1982), Barrister at Law(King's Inns 1984), LL.D(NUI 1997), PhD(Dubl 2001), LL.D(hc NUI 2016) Advocate General, Court of Justice of the European Union Member, PL&A 2021
  • Peter Augustine Hogan

    BSc(1969), MSc(1970), PhD(1972), DSc(1988) Professor of Mathematical Physics, UCD Member, Science 1994
  • Celia Victoria Holland

    BA(Dubl 1980), PhD(Cantab). FTCD Professor of Parasitology, TCD. Member, Science 2004
  • Finbarr Holland

    MSc(NUI), PhD(Wales) Professor Emeritus of Mathematics, UCC. Member, Science 1989
  • Justin D Holmes

    BSc, PhD Chair of Nanochemistry, University College Cork Member, Science 2016
  • Patrick Honohan

    BA, MA(NUI), MSc, PhD(Lond) Treasurer Former governor, Central Bank of Ireland Member, PL&A 2002
  • Iseult Honohan

    BA(NUI 1971), MA(Georgetown 1973), PhD(NUI 1987) Associate Professor. Political Theory, University College Dublin Member, PL&A 2014
  • Karl Theodore (Theo) Hoppen

    BA, MA(NUI 1961, 1964) PhD(Cantab), FBA Emeritus Professor of History, University of Hull Honorary Member, PL&A 2010
  • John Nicholas Horne

    BA, DPhil. FTCD Professor of Modern European History, TCD Member, PL&A 2005
  • Colum Hourihane

    MA(NUI 1977), PhD(Lond 1983) Former Director, Index of Christian Art, Princeton Honorary Member, PL&A 2014
  • Peijun Hu

    BS, MS(East China University), PhD(Cantab 1993) Professor in Chemistry, QUB Member, Science 2009
  • Peter Humphries

    BA, PhD, ScD(hc Szeged). FTCD Professor of Medical Molecular Genetics, TCD. Member, Science 1996


Support the future of sciences & humanities in Ireland

Make a donation