The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA


  • Liam Kennedy

    BSc(UCC 1970), MSc(UCC 1974), DPhil(University of York 1978) Professor Emeritus Economic History, QUB Member, PL&A 2012
  • Rose Anne Kenny

    MB ChB(NUI 1977), MC(NUI 1986). FTCD, FRCPI SAPEA Working Group on Transforming the Future of Ageing Head of Department of Gerontology, TCD Member, Science 2014
  • Dermot Francis Keogh

    BA, MA, PhD Professor of History and Jean Monnet Professor of European Integration Studies, UCC Member, PL&A 2002
  • Boris Kholodenko

    MSc(MIPT Russia 1971), PhD(MIPT Russia 1976), DSc(MSU Russia 1989) Professor of Systems Biology, Deputy Director Systems Biology Ireland, Member Conway Institute, UCD Member, Science 2018
  • Declan Kiberd

    MA, DPhil Professor of Anglo-Irish Literature and Drama, UCD Member, PL&A 2003
  • Mairead Elizabeth Kiely

    BSc(Ulster 1992), PhD(NUI 1999), PGDip(NUI 2006) Professor of Nutrition, UCC Member, Science 2022
  • Gerard Kiely

    BE(NUI 1972), MEngSc(University of New South Wales 1975), MSc(Colorado State University 1980), PhD(NUI 1989), DSc(NUI 2013) Professor of Engineering, UCC Member, Science 2013
  • Myung Shik Kim

    BS(Sogang University 1984), PhD(Imperial College 1988), MBA(Warwick 2000) Professor of Quantum Information Science, Imperial College London. Member, Science 2009
  • Desmond Stephen King

    BA(Dubl 1979), MA(Northwestern 1981), PhD(Northwestern 1985). FBA Andrew Mellon Professor of Government, Nuffield College Honorary Member, PL&A 2014
  • Stephen Leigh Kingon

    BA, DBA, DSc (QUB 1967, 1968, 2012), FCA (CAI 1973) Chairman NIE, Lagan Group and Balcas Group, Chartered Accountants Ireland, Chartered Institute of Management Member, PL&A 2014
  • Claudia Kinmonth

    MA(RCA 1988), PhD(Teesside 1997) Independent design historian Member, PL&A 2018
  • B. Therese Kinsella

    BSc, PhD(NUI) Professor of Biochemistry, UCD Member, Science 2006
  • Rob Kitchin

    BSc(Lancaster 1991), MSc(Leicester 1992), PhD(Wales 1995) Professor, MU Member, PL&A 2015
  • Brian Kent Kobilka

    BS (Minnesota 1977), MD (Yale 1981). Professor, Stanford University. Honorary Member, Science 2013
  • Ullrich Kockel

    Diplom-Betriebswirt(Hochshule Bremen 1984), BA(CNAA/Leeds Polytechnic 1984), PhD(Liverpool 1989) Emeritus Professor of Ethnology UU, Professor of Culture & Economy, Intercultural Research Centre, Heriot-Watt Member, PL&A 2012
  • Walter Kolch

    MD Director, Systems Biology Ireland, University College Dublin Member, Science 2016
  • Alan Richard Kramer

    BA(Newcastle 1977), MA(Newcastle 1979), PhD(Hamburg 1987) PL&A Professor of European History, TCD Member, 2018
  • Rudolf Krska

    PhD(Vienna 1993), Diploma(Vienna 1990) Professor of Analytical Chemistry, University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna Honorary Member, Science 2022
  • Brigid Laffan

    BCS(NUI 1977), PhD(Dubl 1987) Jean Monnet Professor of European Politics, European University Institute Member, PL&A 2005
  • John Gerard Laffey

    DSc(NUI 2022), MD(NUI 2001), MA(IPA 2001), MB, BCh, BAO(NUI 1992), BSc(NUI 1989) Professor/Consultant in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine, University of Galway and Galway University Hospitals Member, Science 2023
  • Thomas Joseph Laffey

    BSc, MSc(NUI 1964, 1965), DPhil(Sussex 1968) Associate Professor of Mathematics, UCD Member, Science 1981
  • Philip Richard Lane

    BA(Dubl), AM, PhD(Harvard) Professor of International Economics, TCD Member, PL&A 2007
  • Edward Larrissy

    BA, MA, D.Phil(Oxon) Professor of Poetry and Head of School, QUB Member, PL&A 2011
  • Ed C Lavelle

    BSc(NUI 1990), PhD(Plymouth 1994) Professor in Immunology, TCD Member, Science 2021
  • Michael John Laver

    MA(Essex), PhD(Liver) Professor of Political Science, NYU Member, PL&A 1990


Support the future of sciences & humanities in Ireland

Make a donation