The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA


  • Noel Lowndes

    BA(Dubl 1983), PhD(Glasgow 1987). Chair of Biochemistry. Chair of Biochemistry, University of Galway Member, Science 2017
  • Geoffrey Roger Luckhurst

    Emeritus Professor of Chemical Physics Honorary Member, Science 2010
  • James Gerard Lunney

    BSc, PhD(QUB 1974, 1980), MA(Dubl 1983). FTCD Professor in Physics, TCD Member, Science 2008
  • Marina Annetta Lynch

    BSc, MSc(NUI 1974, 1976), PhD(Dubl 1980). FTCD Professor of Cellular Neuroscience, TCD. Member, Science 2009
  • Peter Lynch

    BSc, MSc(NUI 1968, 1969), PhD(Dubl 1982) Emeritus Professor of Meterology, UCD Member, Science 2012
  • Christopher J. Lynn

    BSc(QUB 1969), PhD(NUI 1986) Consultant Archaeologist Member, PL&A 2008
  • William Edward Lyons

    BA(ANU), MA(jo Calgary, Dublin), PhD(Dundee). FTCD Retired Professor of Moral Philosophy, TCD Member, PL&A 1994
  • Patricia Lysaght

    Barrister at Law(Kings Inns 1971), BA(NUI 1975), PhD(NUI 1982) Emerita Professor of European Ethnology, UCD Member, PL&A 2006
  • Gearóid S. Mac Eoin

    BA, MA(NUI), DPhil(Bonn) Emeritus Professor of Old and Middle Irish and Celtic Philology, University of Galway Member, PL&A 1975
  • Séamus Mac Mathúna

    BA, PhD(QUB). FRSA Professor of Irish and Celtic Studies, UU Member, PL&A 2006
  • Brian Dominic MacCraith

    BSc, MSc, PhD(NUI) President, DCU Member, Science 2007
  • Alasdair MacIntyre

    Professor of Philosophy, University of Notre Dame Honorary Member, PL&A 1999
  • Malcolm MacLachlan

    BSc(Cardiff 1983), PhD(Dundee 1986), MSc(Lond 1988), DipBA(Strathclyde 1990), MA(Dubl 1999), MA (jo). FTCD Professor of Psychology and Social Inclusion, Maynooth University Member, PL&A 2005
  • Deirdre Madden

    BCL(NUI 1987), LLM(NUI 1988), BL(Honourable Society of Kings Inns 1989), PhD(NUI 2000) Professor of Law, UCC Member, PL&A 2020
  • Hugh Magennis

    BA, MA, PhD(QUB 1970, 1972, 1981) Emeritus Professor of English, QUB Member, PL&A 2006
  • Christine A Maggs

    BA, MA(Oxon 1978), PhD(NUI 1983) Executive Dean Of The Faculty Of Science & Technology, Bournemouth Member, Science 2013
  • Eleanor Maguire

    BA, PhD, FMEDSCI, FRS Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience, University College London Honorary Member, Science 2017
  • Anita Rose Maguire

    BSc(NUI 1985), PhD(NUI 1989) Vice President Professor of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Director ABCRF, UCC Member, Science 2014
  • Anne Elizabeth Magurran

    BSc, DPhil(Ulster 1976, 1981), FRSE Professor of Ecology and Evolution, University of St Andrews Honorary Member, Science 2020
  • Imelda Maher

    BCL(NUI), LLM(Temple), BL(Kings Inns) Sutherland Full Professor of European Law, UCD Member, PL&A 2011
  • Anthony Peter William Malcomson

    BA, MA(Cantab), PhD(QUB 1970) Retired Director, Public Record Office, Belfast Member, PL&A 1987
  • Sinisa Malesevic

    BA(University of Zagreb 1993), MA, Dipl(Central European University/Lancaster University 1995,1996), PhD(UCC 1999) Professor of Sociology & Head of School of Sociology, UCD Member, PL&A 2010
  • James P Mallory

    AB(Occidental 1967), PhD(Calif 1975) Emeritus Professor of Prehistoric Archaeology, QUB Member, PL&A 1996
  • Jonathan Paul Gascoigne Malthouse

    BSc, PhD(Lond 1973, 1977) Professor of Biochemistry, UCD Member, Science 2005
  • JoAnne Marie Mancini

    PhD(Johns Hopkins 1997), MA(Johns Hopkins 1992), BA(Virginia 1990) Associate Professor in History, MU Member, PL&A 2022


Support the future of sciences & humanities in Ireland

Make a donation