The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA


  • Maurice Anthony Manning

    BA, MA(NUI 1964, 1966), DLitt(NUI 1999) President Irish Human Rights Commission 2002-2012 and Chancellor, NUI Member, PL&A 2009
  • Martin George Southcote Mansergh

    BA(Oxon 1969, MA(Oxon 1974), DPhil(Oxon 1974), Doctorate(hc NUI 2017) Vice-Chair of the Expert Advisory Group on Commemorations Member, PL&A 2018
  • Michael Marsh

    BA, MA, PhD Professor of Comparative Political Behaviour, Trinity College Dublin Member, PL&A 2016
  • Christopher William Marsh

    BA(Cantab 1986), PhD(Cantab 1991) Professor of Cultural History, QUB Member, PL&A 2020
  • Seamus Joseph Martin

    BSc, PhD(NUI). FTCD Smurfit Professor of Medical Genetics, TCD Member, Science 2006
  • Patrick Masterson

    MA(NUI), PhD(Louvain), Dr(hc Caen, Dubl, NYU) Emeritus Professor of Philosophy; Former University Principal, European University, Florence; and Former President, UCD Member, PL&A 1989
  • Martin Mathieu

    Diploma, Doctor Natural Sciences, Habiliation, (Universität Tübingen 1982,1987,1991) Professor of Pure Mathematics, QUB Member, Science 2010
  • Aaron Gordon Maule

    BSc(QUB 1986), PhD(QUB 1989) Professor of Molecular Parasitology, QUB Member, Science 2012
  • Andrew David Hastings Mayes

    MA(Dubl), PhD(Edin), LittD(Dubl). FTCD(Emeritus) Former Erasmus Smith's Professor of Hebrew, TCD Member, PL&A 1992
  • Stephen George Mayhew

    BSc, PhD(Sheff) Emeritus Professor of Biochemistry, UCD Member, Science 2000
  • James Carthew Carden Mays

    BA, MA, DPhil(Oxon 1960, 1962, 1966) Retired Professor of English Literature, UCD Member, PL&A 2001
  • William J Mc Cormack

    Independent Scholar, BA, MA, DPhil Member, PL&A 2016
  • Mary McAleese

    LLB(QUB), MA(Dubl), Dip. Inst. Of Linguists(London), BL(Court of Northern Ireland), BL(King's Inns Dublin),Hon Doctorate of Humane Letters (Rochester Institute of Technology, New York State), LLD (hc from 16 Universities) Former President of Ireland. Member, PL&A 1998
  • Patrick McArdle

    BSc, PhD, DSc(NUI) Associate Professor of Chemistry, University of Galway Member, Science 1998
  • Brian Philip McBreen

    PhD(NUI) Emeritus Professor, UCD Member, Science 1989
  • Vincent Joseph McBrierty

    BSc(QUB 1962), PhD(Lond 1965), ScD(Dubl 1979). FTCD(Emeritus) Retired Professor of Polymer Physics, TCD Member, Science 1983
  • Malachy McCann

    BSc(UU 1977), PhD(QUB 1980) Senior Lecturer in Chemistry, Maynooth Member, Science 2010
  • John Vincent McCanny

    BSc(1973), PhD(UU 1978), DSc(QUB 1998). Kt, CBE, FRS Director Institute of Electronics Communications and Information Technology, QUB Member, Science 2000
  • Daniel P. McCarthy

    BE(Western Australia), MA, PhD(Dubl). FTCD(Emeritus) Retired Lecturer Member, PL&A 2012
  • John McCloskey

    BSc, PGCD, PhD. Chair in Natural Hazards Science, Edinburgh Member, Science 2012
  • David John McConnell

    BA, PhD(CalTech). Member of EMBO, FZSI Fellow Emeritus, TCD Member, Science 1984
  • John Christopher McCrudden

    LLB(QUB 1974), LLM(Yale 1975), MA(Oxon 1980), DPhil(Oxon 1981), DCL(Oxon 2017), LLD(hc), FBA. CBE Professor of Human Rights and Equality Law, QUB Member, PL&A 2018
  • William Alan McCutcheon

    MA, PhD(QUB 1958, 1962). FSA Industrial Archaeologist, Historian (industry, technology, engineering, transport), Archivist and Author. Former Director Ulster Museum, Belfast and Hon. Senior Research Fellow, QUB Member, PL&A 1983
  • Frank McDermott

    N.C.E.A. Diploma (AIT) 1981, PhD (Open University) 1987 University Lecturer, UCD Member, Science 2020
  • Marianne McDonald

    BA(Bryn Mawr), MA(Chicago), PhD(Calif), DLitt(hc Athens 1994, NUI 1994, Thessaloniki 1997, Dubl 2001) Distinguished Professor Overscale, University of San Diego Member, PL&A 1993


Support the future of sciences & humanities in Ireland

Make a donation