The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA


  • Anthony Patrick McElligott

    BA(Essex 1981), PhD(Manchester 1991) Professor of History, UL Member, PL&A 2015
  • Michael Brendan McElroy

    BA (QUB 1960), AM, PhD, DSc (hc QUB). Gilbert Butler Professor of Environmental Sciences, Harvard University Honorary Member, Science 2009
  • Noel Gerard McElvaney

    MB, BCh BAO(NUI 1982), MRCPI 1984, FRCPC 1991, FRCPC 1992, FRCPI 1996, DSc(NUI 2019) Professor of Medicine, RCSI Member, Science 2021
  • Jennifer Claire McElwain

    BA(Dubl 1993), PhD(London 1997). Chair, Climate Change and Environmental Sciences Committee and EASAC Environmental Steering Panel Professor Earth Institute, School of Biology and Environmental Science, TCD Member, Science 2017
  • Kieran Patrick McEvoy

    LLB(QUB 1989), MSc(Edinburgh 1991), PhD(QUB 2000) Professor of Law and Transitional Justice, QUB Member, PL&A 2019
  • Fearghal Patrick McGarry

    PhD(Dubl 1998), BA(NUI 1992) Professor of Modern Irish History, QUB Member, PL&A 2019
  • Hannah McGee

    BA, BA Mod(NUI 1981), PhD(Dubl 1988), DSc(NUI 2015) Deputy Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, RCSI Member, PL&A 2022
  • John Finlay McGilp

    MA(Dubl, Oxon), PhD(Liv). CPhys, FInstP, Emeritus Fellow, TCD. Treasurer Former Professor of Surface and Interface Optics, TCD Member, Science 2003
  • Brian C McGing

    BA(Dubl, 1974), MA, PhD(University of Toronto, 1976, 1981). FTCD Regius Professor of Greek, TCD. Member, PL&A 2004
  • Michael James McGlinchey

    BSc, PhD(Manc 1965,1968) Professor of Inorganic Chemistry, UCD Member, Science 2008
  • James Ivan McGuire

    MA, DLitt(hc NUI) Chairman, Irish Manuscripts Commission 2003-2017; Adjunct Professor, School of History and Archives, UCD Member, PL&A 2007
  • Peter Edward McHugh

    BE, ScM, PhD Policy and International Relations Secretary, EASAC Council Dean of Engineering and Informatics, Professor of Biomedical Engineering, University of Galway Member, Science 2011
  • Patrick Gerald McKenna

    BSc(UU 1976), PhD(QUB 1979), DSc(hc NUI), LLD(hc QUB). FSB, CBiol, FIBMS, FRSA Senior Vice President, Member of Seven Academies Group Hon Executive Secretary and President Emeritus, Heads of University Centres of Biomedical Science (HUCBMS), Professor Emeritus and former Vice Chancellor, UU Member, Science 2001
  • Peter Damian J McManus

    BA, PhD(Dubl 1977, 1982) Professor of Early Irish, TCD Member, PL&A 2009
  • Thomas Brian Hamilton McMurry

    MA, PhD, ScD(Dubl) Retired Professor of Organic Chemistry, TCD Member, Science 1959
  • Martin Joseph McNamara

    STL, DSS(Rome 1954, 1965), PhD(NUI 1976) Emeritus Professor of Sacred Scripture, Milltown Institute Member, PL&A 1981
  • Helene M McNulty

    BSc, PhD(Dubl 1987, 1992), Diploma in Dietetics(DIT 1986), RD, HCPC(UK) Professor of Human Nutrition & Dietetics, UU Member, Science 2008
  • Edward Joseph McParland

    MSc, MA, PhD. FTCD Lecturer in the History of Art, TCD Member, PL&A 1996
  • Gerardine Meaney

    BA, MA, PhD(NUI 1982, 1984, 1990) Professor of Cultural Theory, UCD Member, PL&A 2018
  • Eucharia Meehan

    BSc (NUI), PhD (NUI 1993), PgDip (TCD 1996), CDipAF (ACCA 1998), Vice President Registrar and CEO, DIAS Member, Science 2017
  • Andrew Alexander Meharg

    BSc(QUB 1986), PhD(Aberdeen 1989), FRSE Professor, QUB Member, Science 2018
  • Stephen Mennell

    MA(Cantab 1970), DrSocSc(Amsterdam 1985), LittD(Cantab 2004) Professor Emeritus of Sociology, UCD Member, PL&A 2009
  • Yves Mény

    BA, PhD President Emeritus European University Institute, Florence and President, Sant'Anna School for Higher Education Honorary Member, PL&A 2009
  • Thomas J. Millar

    BSc, PhD, DSc(Manc) Professor of Astrophysics , QUB Member, Science 2011
  • Andrew Mills

    Chair of Materials Chemistry, Queen's University Belfast Member, Science 2016


Support the future of sciences & humanities in Ireland

Make a donation