The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA


  • Angela Bourke

    BA, MA, PhD(NUI 1972, 1974, 1983) Emerita Professor of Irish-Language Studies, UCD Member, PL&A 2004
  • Andrew Bowie

    BA(Dubl 1993), PhD(Dubl 1997). FTCD Head of Immunology and Professor of Immunology, TCD Member, Science 2014
  • Peter John Bowler

    BA(Cantab), MSc(Sussex), PhD(Toronto). FBA Retired Professor, QUB Member, PL&A 1993
  • Derek Raymond Boyd

    BSc, PhD, DSc(QUB 1963, 1966, 1977) Emeritus Professor of Organic Chemistry, QUB Member, Science 2004
  • Geraldine B Boylan

    MA(NUI 2008), PhD(Kings College London 2002), MSc(University of London, 1991) Professor of Neonatal Physiology, UCC Member, Science 2022
  • Gerard Eugene Boyle

    BA(NUI 1977), MA(NUI 1978), PhD(NUI 1978) Director, Teagasc Member, PL&A 2010
  • Professor Daniel Gerard Mary Bradley

    BA, MA(Cantab), PhD(Dubl), FTCD Professor of Population Genetics Member, Science 2009
  • Hugh R Brady

    MBBCh, BAO, BSc, PhD, MD(NUI) Former President, UCD Member, Science 2009
  • Ciaran Francis Brady

    BA(Dubl 1974), PhD(1982 Dubl) Professor of Early Modern History and Historiography, TCD Member, PL&A 2014
  • John Brannigan

    BA(Thames Polytechnic, London 1991), MA(NUI 1992), PhD(Luton 1996) Professor of English, UCD Member, PL&A 2021
  • Fran Brearton

    BA(Durham 1990), MA(QUB 1993), PhD(Durham 1998) Professor of Modern Poetry, QUB Member, PL&A 2018
  • Pádraig A Breatnach

    MA(NUI), DPhil(Munich) Professor of Classical Irish, UCD 1986-2006; editor of Éigse: A Journal of Irish Studies (NUI). Senior Professor, DIAS Member, PL&A 2003
  • Liam Breatnach

    Senior Professor, DIAS Member, PL&A 2000
  • Caoimhín Breatnach

    BA, MA, PhD(NUI 1981,1984,1990) Senior Lecturer, UCD Member, PL&A 2010
  • Richard Breen

    MA, PhD(Cantab), FBA Professor of Sociology and Fellow, Nuffield College Member, PL&A 1998
  • Niamh Máire Brennan

    BSc(NUI 1976), PhD(Warwick 1995), Fellow Chartered Accountants Ireland (1979), Chartered Director, Institute of Directors (London 2007) Michael MacCormac Professor of Management, UCD Member, PL&A 2020
  • Loretta Glucksman Brennan

    Member, PL&A 2004
  • John David Brewer

    BA(Nottm 1973), MSSc(Birm 1976), DSSc(hc Brunel 2012) FRSE Vice-Chair of Social Sciences Committee Professor of Post Conflict Studies, QUB Member, PL&A 2004
  • Maurice J. Bric

    MA(NUI), AM, PhD(Johns Hopkins) Associate Professor of History, UCD Member, PL&A 2000
  • Derek E.G Briggs

    BA(Dubl), PhD(Cantab), ScD(hc Dubl) G. Evelyn Hutchinson Professor of Geology and Geophysics, and Curator-in-charge, Invertebrate Paleontology, Yale University Honorary Member, Science 2003
  • Peter Brown

    Director, Program in Hellenic Studies and Philip and Beulah Rollins Professor of History, Princeton University Honorary Member, PL&A 2010
  • Terence Peter McCord Brown

    GMG, MA, PhD(Dubl) Professor of Anglo-Irish Literature, TCD Member, PL&A 1992
  • James Joseph Browne

    BE(NUI 1974), MEngSc(NUI 1978), PhD(UMIST 1990), DSc(UMIST 1990) University of Galway Member, Science 2005
  • Janet Elizabeth Browne

    BA(Dubl 1972), MSc(Imperial College 1973), PhD(Imperial College 1978), DSc (hc Dubl 2009) Professor, Harvard University Honorary Member, PL&A 2019
  • Kath Browne

    PhD(Gloucestershire 2003), MA(Sheffield 1999), BSc(Loughborough 1998) Chair Geography and Geosciences committee Professor, UCD Member, PL&A 2022


Support the future of sciences & humanities in Ireland

Make a donation