The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA


  • Éamonn Ó Carragáin

    MA, PhD Professor of Old and Middle English, UCC Member, PL&A 2005
  • Tomás Ó Carragáin

    BA(NUI 1997), MA(York 1998), PhD(NUI 2003) Lecturer, UCC Member, PL&A 2013
  • Seán Ó Coileáin

    BA, MA(NUI 1966, 1967), AM(Harvard 1969), PhD(Harvard 1972) Emeritus Professor of Modern Irish, UCC Member, PL&A 2004
  • Dáibhí Iarla Ó Cróinín

    BA, MPhil, PhD(NUI) Chair of Historical Studies Committee Associate Professor of History, University of Galway Member, PL&A 1996
  • Pól Ó Dochartaigh

    BA(Cardiff 1987), BA(Ulster 2004), PhD(Nottm 1995), DLitt(Nottm 2019), FRHistS, FHEA, FRSA. Deputy President and Registrar, University of Galway Member, PL&A 2010
  • Raghnall Ó Floinn

    BA, MA (NUI 1974, 1976), FSA Chair Historical Studies Committee Former Director, National Museum of Ireland Member, PL&A 2005
  • Cormac Ó Gráda

    MA, PhD Emeritus Professor of Economics, UCD Member, PL&A 1994
  • Tadhg Pól Ó hAnnracháin

    BA(NUI 1984), MPhil(NUI 1986), PhD(EUI 1995) Professor, UCD Member, PL&A 2022
  • Ruairí Ó hUiginn

    BA, MA(NUI 1976, 1980), PhD(QUB 1989) Senior Professor, School of Celtic Studies, Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies Member, PL&A 2007
  • Eamonn Nollaig Ó Muraíle

    BA, MA, PhD(NUI 1970, 1971, 1991) Senior Lecturer in Modern Irish, University of Galway Member, PL&A 2009
  • Máirtín Ó Murchú

    MA(Dubl, NUI), PhD(NUI) Senior Professor of Celtic Studies, DIAS Member, PL&A 1988
  • Pádraig Seosamh Ó Riain

    MA, PhD Emeritus Professor of Early and Medieval Irish, Director of Locus Project, UCC Member, PL&A 1989
  • Fergal O'Brien

    BA, BAI( Dubl 1997), PhD(Dubl 2001) Professor of Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine, RCSI Member, Science 2018
  • William Francis O'Brien

    BA, PhD(NUI 1982, 1987) Professor of Archaeology, UCC Member, PL&A 2008
  • Dáithí O'Ceallaigh

    BA(NUI 1966), H DIp Ed(NUI 1967), Dr Intl Rels hon(Geneva Sch Dip Intl Rels 2010), DPhil hon(Ulster 2017) Institute of International and European Affairs Member, PL&A 2019
  • Michael O'Connell

    BSc, PhD, DSc, HDipEd Professor of Botany (Personal Chair), University of Galway Member, Science 1996
  • James Patrick O'Connor

    BSc, PhD(NUI 1970, 1975) Emeritus Entomologist, National Museum of Ireland Member, Science 2005
  • Denjoe O'Connor

    DIAS Member, Science 2012
  • Brian O'Connor

    BA(NUI 1988), MA(NUI 1990), DPhil(Oxon 1995), DLitt(NUI 2021) Professor of Philosophy, UCD Member, PL&A 2021
  • Ian Michael O'Donnell

    MA(Dubl 1988), MPhil(Cantab 1989), PhD(London 1992), MA(Oxon 1993), LLD(NUI 2005), LLD(Cantab 2023), FRHistS, FBPsS Professor of Criminology, UCD Member, PL&A 2015
  • James Stewart O'Donnell

    MB.BAO.BCh, BA(Dubl 1990), PhD(Imperial College 2001), FRCPI(2007), FRCPath(2007), FFPath 2008), ScD(Dubl 2021) Professor of Vascular Biology and Consultant Haematologist, RCSI and St James's Hospital Member, Science 2023
  • Mary O'Dowd

    BA, PhD RIA Secretary, Professor Emeritus of Gender History, QUB Member, PL&A 2010
  • Colin Dermot O'Dowd

    DSc, FInsP, FRMetS, PhD, BSc. Personal Professor of Physics, University of Galway Member, Science 2011
  • Lorraine O'Driscoll

    PhD(DCU 1995), MSc(NUI 1991), BSc(NUI 1989), MA jo(Dubl, 2012), FTCD(2012), FRSB(2020), Chair Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Committee Professor of Pharmacology and Biomedicine , TCD Member, Science 2021
  • Anthony Gilbert O'Farrell

    MSc(NUI), PhD(Brown) Professor Emeritus of Mathematics, Maynooth Member, Science 1981


Support the future of sciences & humanities in Ireland

Make a donation