The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA

Past Members

  • Frederick Herman Andreasen Aalen

    MA, MSc, LittD, FSA, FTCD Retired Professor of Geography,, TCD Member, PL&A 1987
  • Ingrid Victoria Allen

    MD, DSc, Dr Med Sci(hc). FRCPath, FMedSci Professor Emerita of Neuropathology, QUB , Science 1993
  • John Harwood Andrews

    MA(Cantab), PhD(Lond), MA, MSc, MLitt(Dubl). FTCD Retired Professor of Geography, TCD , PL&A 1978
  • Michael Francis Atiyah

    FRS Former President, Royal Society of Edinburgh Honorary Member, Science 1979
  • Bernard Bailyn

    AB(Williams College 1945), AM(Harvard 1947), PhD(Harvard 1953), LLD(Harvard 1999), LHD(Yale) University Professor, Harvard University , PL&A 2011
  • Werner Anton Vincenz Beierwaltes

    Promotion Phil., Habilitation, Dr (hc) Ioannina Bundesverdienstkreuz Emeritus Professor of Philosophy, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich , PL&A 1986
  • Kenneth Lloyd Bell

    BSc(QUB 1961), MA(UCLA 1964), PhD(QUB 1965) Emeritus Professor of Physics and Former Pro-Vice-Chancellor, QUB Member, Science 2001
  • Eavan Boland

    BA(Dubl 1966), DLitt (Strathclyde 1997), DLitt (Colby 1997), DLitt (NUI 1997), DLitt (Holy Cross 2000), DLitt (Bowdoin 2004), LittD (Dubl 2004). Director, Stanford University , PL&A 2017
  • Thomas Joseph Brazil

    BE, PhD Professor of Electronic Engineering, UCD , Science 2005
  • Philip George Burke

    BSc(Lond 1953), PhD(Lond 1956), DSc(hc Exeter, QUB). FRS Emeritus Professor, QUB , Science 1974
  • Anne Buttimer

    BA, MA(NUI), Standard General Teaching Cert (State of Washington 1961), PhD(University of Washington 1965), DPhil(hc Joensuu 2002, Tartu 2004), DSc(hc Joseph Fourier University 2012), Docteur(hc University of Grenoble 2012) Emerita Professor of Geography, UCD , PL&A 2000
  • Francis John Byrne

    MA Professor of Early (including Medieval) Irish History, UCD , PL&A 1974
  • Peter Kevin Carroll

    MSc, PhD, DSc(NUI) Emeritus Professor of Optical Physics,, UCD Member, Science 1960
  • Luigi Luca Cavalli-Sforza

    MD (Pavia 1944), MA (Cantab 1950); DSc (hc Columbia, Cantab, Calabria, Bolgna, Cagliari, Rome) Emeritus Professor of Genetics, University of Stanford Honorary Member, Science 2007
  • John Stephen Roy Chisholm

    MA, PhD(Cantab) Emeritus Professor of Mathematics,, University of Kent Member, Science 1964
  • Desmond Matthew Clarke

    BSc(NUI), PhD(Notre Dame, USA), L.Théol(Lyon), BPh(Louvain), DLitt(NUI) Retired Professor of Philosophy,, UCC Member, PL&A 1999
  • Emer Colleran

    BSc, PhD, LLD(hc) Professor of Microbiology, NUIG Member, Science 2003
  • Seán Patrick Cromien

    BA(NUI 1950) Retired Secretary General, Department of Finance Member, PL&A 2006
  • Anne Olivia Crookshank

    BA(Dubl 1949), MA(Lond 1952). FTCD Professor Emerita of Art History,, TCD , PL&A 1985
  • Robert Elgie

    BA(Oxon 1987), PhD(LSE 1992) Professor of Government and International Studies, DCU , PL&A 2017
  • Gwilym Owen Evans

    MSc, PhD, DSc(Wales) Emeritus Professor of Agricultural Zoology, UCD , Science 1973
  • J Ronan Fanning

    PhD(Cantab) Professor Emeritus of Modern History,, UCD , PL&A 1989
  • David Patrick Brian Fitzpatrick

    BA(Melb), PhD(Cantab) Professor of Modern History, TCD , PL&A 2001
  • Peter Froggatt

    MB(1952), MD(Dubl 1957), PhD(QUB 1967), DSc(hc NUI), LLD(Dubl, hc QUB) Former President and Vice-Chancellor, QUB. , Science 1978
  • Murray Gell-Mann

    BSc (Yale), PhD (MIT) Robert Andrews Millikan Professor Emeritus of Theoretical Physics, California Institute of Technology Honorary Member, Science 2003


Support the future of sciences & humanities in Ireland

Make a donation