The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA

Past Members

  • Edward Jeauneau

    Professor, Pontifical Institute of Medieval Studies, University of Toronto Honorary Member, PL&A 1991
  • Michael Thomas Kane

    BAgrSc, MAgrSc(NUI 1964, 1965), PhD(Cornell, 1969), DSc Emeritus Professor of Physiology, University of Galway , Science 2007
  • Rolf Loeber

    Doctoral degree, (University of Amsterdam 1969), PhD (QU. Kingston, Ontario,Canada, 1972)Doctoral degree, (University of Amsterdam 1969), PhD (QU. Kingston, Ontario,Canada, 1972) Historian and Professor of Juvenile Delinquency and Social Development, Free University of Amsterdam and Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry, University of Pittsburgh , PL&A 2008
  • Amyan Macfadyen

    MA, DSc(Oxon) Emeritus Professor of Biology, UU Member, Science 1980
  • Thomas Francis Malone

    Distinguished Scholar Emeritus in Geophysics, North Carolina State University Honorary Member, Science 1989
  • Matthew F McCarthy

    PhD(Nottm), DSc(NUI) Retired Professor of Mathematical Physics, NUIG Member, Science 1987
  • Carmel McCarthy

    BA, MA(NUI 1966, 1968) STL, STD(Fribourg 1972,1980) Emerita Professor of Hebrew and Syriac, UCD , PL&A 2008
  • John Joseph McGarvey

    BSc(QUB 1960), PhD(QUB 1964). CChem Emeritus Professor of Chemistry, Visiting Research Professor, School of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering and Centre for Experimental Medicine, QUB , Science 2012
  • Michael Anthony McKervey

    BSc, PhD, DSc(QUB 1961, 1964, 1972) Director, Almac Sciences Ltd , Science 1983
  • Elizabeth Marian Meehan

    BA(Sussex 1976), DPhil(Oxon). FRSA Emerita Professor of Law and Former Director, Institute of Governance, QUB Member, PL&A 2002
  • Arvids Leons Metnieks

    PhD(Dubl) Former Research Associate, School of Cosmic Physics, DIAS , Science 1962
  • Benjamin Lawrence Moiseiwitsch

    BSc, PhD(Lond) Emeritus Professor of Mathematics, QUB Member, Science 1969
  • John J Moore

    DSc(NUI) Lecturer in Theology. Former Professor of Botany, UCD , Science 1967
  • Cathleen Synge Morawetz

    Professor Emerita of Mathematics, Courant Institute, New York University Honorary Member, Science 2000
  • James Peter Neary

    BA, MA(NUI 1970, 1971), BPhil, DPhil(Oxon 1976,1978) Professor of Economics, University of Oxford , PL&A 1997
  • Donnchadh Ó Corráin

    MA, DLitt Professor of Medieval History, UCC , PL&A 1982
  • Brendan O Donoghue

    Former Secretary General, Department of the Environment and Retired Director, National Library of Ireland , PL&A 2001
  • Pádraig Ó Fiannachta

    BA, MA, HDip, DPh(NUI) SP, VF(Cantab), D.Litt Hum(hc) Former Professor of Early and Medieval Irish, Maynooth Member, PL&A 1967
  • Breandán Ó Madagáin

    BA, BD, PhD Emeritus Professor of Irish, NUIG , PL&A 1992
  • Antoine Breandán Ó Riordáin

    BComm, MA(NUI 1947, 1954) Retired Director, National Museum of Ireland Member, PL&A 1975
  • Ronan Gerard O'Regan

    MB, BCh, BAO, BSc, PhD(Lond), MD. FRCPI Retired Professor of Physiology and Histology, UCD , Science 1990
  • William Ivo O'Sullivan

    BSc, MSc, PhD(NUI) Retired Senior Lecturer in Chemistry, UCD , Science 1974
  • Denis Francis O'Sullivan

    BSc(NUI), PhD(Dubl 1966). FInstP, CPhys, FRAS Emeritus Professor, DIAS , Science 2008
  • William Nial Osborough

    LLB(QUB), LLM(New Orleans), MA(Dubl) Emeritus Professor of Law, UCD , PL&A 2003
  • Timothy Drever Robinson

    MA(Cantab 1959), Hon.LLD(NUI) Writer Member, PL&A 2010


Support the future of sciences & humanities in Ireland

Make a donation