The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest Academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA
  • John Doyle

    Editor of Irish Studies in International Affairs DCU
  • Peter Courtland Agre

    MD(Johns Hopkins 1970) University Professor, Johns Hopkins University Honorary Member, Science 2011
  • Felix Aharonian

    Professor, DIAS Member, Science 2012
  • Wayne Aherne

    Head of Information Technology, Information Technology
  • Dick Ahlstrom

    Irish Times
  • Ingrid Victoria Allen

    MD, DSc, Dr Med Sci(hc). FRCPath, FMedSci Professor Emerita of Neuropathology, QUB Member, Science 1993
  • John Harwood Andrews

    MA(Cantab), PhD(Lond), MA, MSc, MLitt(Dubl). FTCD Retired Professor of Geography, TCD Member, PL&A 1978
  • John Peebles Arbuthnott

    MA, PhD(Glas), ScD Professor of Microbiology, University of Glasgow and Former President, The Royal Society of Edinburgh Member, Science 1985
  • Tom Arnold

    MA Director, IIEA Member, PL&A 2016
  • John Fuller Atkins

    BA(Dubl 1965), MA(Dubl 1968), PhD(Dubl 1970), ScD(Dubl 1981) Former Director of Science Foundation Ireland, Molecular Biologist, UCC Member, Science 2003
  • Karen Ayton

    Senior Executive Assistant, Programmes and Administration
  • Maria Baghramian

    BA(QUB 1983), PhD(Dubl 1990) ALLEA Working Group on Trust and Expertise Professor of American Philosophy, UCD Member, PL&A 2010
  • Mark Edward Bailey

    BA, MSc, MA, PhD Emeritus Director, Armagh Observatory Member, Science 2010
  • Michael George Lockhart Baillie

    PhD Professor of Palaeoecology, QUB Member, Science 1991
  • Bernard Bailyn

    AB(Williams College 1945), AM(Harvard 1947), PhD(Harvard 1953), LLD(Harvard 1999), LHD(Yale) University Professor, Harvard University Honorary Member, PL&A 2011
  • Toby Christopher Barnard

    MA, DPhil, FBA, FRHistS Emeritus Fellow, Hertford College, University of Oxford Honorary Member, PL&A 2001
  • Alan Michael Barrett

    BA(Dubl 1989), MA(Michigan State 1991), PhD(Michigan State 1994). Honorary Fellow, Society of Actuaries of Ireland Research Fellow, Institute for Labor Economics, Germany Director, Economic and Social Research Institute Member, PL&A 2019
  • Liam P Barry

    BE(NUI, 1991), MEngSc(NUI, 1993), PhD(Rennes,1996). Professor of Photonics Systems, DCU Member, Science 2019
  • Thomas Bartlett

    PhD(QUB) Professor of Irish History, University of Aberdeen Member, PL&A 1995
  • John Raymond Bartlett

    BA, MLitt, MA(Oxon), MA, LittD(Dubl 1970, 1994), FTCD(Emeritus) Retired Professor of Biblical Studies, TCD and Church of Ireland Theological College Member, PL&A 2007
  • Paolo Bartoloni

    BA(Florence, 1985), PhD (La Trobe) Head of Discipline, Italian, NUIG Member, PL&A 2019
  • Brian Bates

    BSc, MSc(Nottm), DIC, PhD(Lond) Emeritus Professor of Physics, QUB Member, Science 1995
  • John Raphael (Ray) Bates

    BSc(NUI 1962), PhD(MIT 1969) Emeritus Professor of Meteorology, University of Copenhagen; Adjunct Professor of Meteorology, UCD Member, Science 1986


Support the future of sciences & humanities in Ireland

Make a donation