Cuireann Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann an taighde chun cinn. Tugaimid aitheantas do scoth taighdeoirí na hÉireann. Tugaimid tacaíocht don scoláireacht agus cuirimid an pobal ar an eolas faoin leas atá le baint as an eolaíocht agus as na daonnachtaí. Creidimid gur gá an dea-thaighde a chur chun cinn, a chothú agus a chur in iúl don phobal. Comhairle dá chuid ball a reachtálann an tAcadamh. Déantar baill a thoghadh agus meastar gurb é an gradam acadúil is airde in Éirinn é.

Read more about the RIA

Call for Nominations to the Holberg Committee 2020-2023

02 December 2019

The Holberg Prize is an international research prize awarded annually for outstanding scholarly work in the humanities, social sciences, law and theology. 

The prize amount is NOK 6 million (approx. EUR 580 000/USD 666 000), and is awarded based on the recommendations from the Holberg Committee. Previous laureates include Paul Gilroy, Cass Sunstein, Onora O’Neill, Bruno Latour and Jürgen Habermas.

The Academic Committee

The five members of the current committee are outstanding scholars in the relevant academic fields:

  • Dame Hazel Genn, Dean of Law, UCL Judicial Institute, University College London (Committee Chair)
  • Björn Wittrock, Principal and Permanent Fellow, SCAS. Professor, Uppsala University
  • Mary Beard, Professor, Classics, University of Cambridge
  • Graeme Turner, Professor emeritus, Cultural Studies/ Media Studies, The University of Queensland
  • Cui Zhiyuan,  rofessor, Social Science, Tsinghua University

In June 2020, Dame Hazel Genn and Björn Wittrock will be stepping down as committee members. Two prominent scholars representing the humanities, social sciences, law and theology will be invited to fill the vacant seats. The Holberg Board will review the nominated candidates and appoint the new members of the committee to replace the seats that are being vacated.

Committee members are elected for an initial period of three years, with the possibility of one additional period. The Holberg Committee meets twice every year in different cities in Europe, and the members receive an annual honorarium of NOK 50 000 (approx. EUR 5000/USD 5400).

To express an interest in being nominated by the Royal Irish Academy, please email a short summary of your area of expertise and interest in the Holberg Committee, your contact information, and a CV to by 23rd December 2019.

Fan ar an eolas le nuachtlitir Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann

Sign up now