The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA
  • Colin Harvey

    Professor of Human Rights Law
  • Moyra Haslett

    BA(Dubl 1990), PhD (Dubl 1995) School of Arts, English and Languages, QUB Member, PL&A 2019
  • Christopher John Hawkesworth

    DPhil(Oxon 1974), BA(Dubl 1970) Professor Emeritus, Universities of Bristol & St Andrews Honorary Member, Science 2019
  • Michael Hilary B. Hayes

    BAgr Sc(NUI 1952), MS(Cornell 1955), PhD(OhioState 1960) Research Professor, Carbolea Centre, Chemical and Environmental Sciences, UL Member, Science 2004
  • William Hayes

    Professor of Physics and Director and Head of The Clarendon Laboratory 1985-1987, President St John's College 1987-2001, Pro-Vice Chancellor 1990-2001, University of Oxford Honorary Member, Science 1998
  • David William Hayton

    BA(Manc), DPhil(Oxford). FSA, FRHS Professor of Early Modern Irish and British History, QUB Member, PL&A 2008
  • Katy Hayward

    PhD Professor of Political Sociology, Queen's University Belfast
  • Catherine Anne Hayward

    BA(UU 1999), PhD(NUI 2002) Professor of Political Sociology, QUB Member, PL&A 2023
  • Róisín Mary Healy

    BA(NUI 1991), MA(NUI 1992), MAGES(Georgetown 1994), PhD(Georgetown 1999) Senior Lecturer, University of Galway Member, PL&A 2023
  • Peter Heffernan

    BSc, PhD(NUI 1981,1985) Chief Executive Member, Science 2006
  • James Joseph Alexander Heffron

    DSc, PhD, BSc, MRIA, FRSC, CChem Professor of Biochemistry, UCC Member, Science 1992
  • Anthony Francis Hegarty

    BSc, PhD, DSc(NUI). FRSC Emeritus Professor of Organic Chemistry, UCD Member, Science 1981
  • John Hegarty

    BSc, MA, PhD(NUI), ScD Provost Emeritus, Professor of Laser Physics, TCD Member, Science 1992
  • Ruth Hegarty

    Managing Editor of Publications, Staff representative on Executive Committee
  • David Neil Hempton

    BA(QUB 1974), PhD(St. Andrews 1977), DLitt(QUB 2013) Dean of Harvard Divinity School, Harvard University Honorary Member, PL&A 2019
  • David Clifford Henshall

    BSc(Bristol 1994), PhD(Edinburgh 1997) Professor of Molecular Physiology and Neuroscience, RCSI University of Medicine and Health Sciences Member, Science 2024
  • Máire R. M. Herbert

    BA, MA(NUI), PhD(Cantab) Associate Professor of Early and Medieval Irish, UCC Member, PL&A 1996
  • Michael W Herren

    BA (Calif), MSL (PIMS, Toronto), PhD (Toronto), FRSC, FMAA Professor Emeritus of Classics and Distinguished Research Professor in English Literature, York University, Toronto Honorary Member, PL&A 2002
  • Andreas Hess

    Diploma(Mercator University 1989), PhD(Free University Berlin 1993) Professor in Sociology, UCD Member, PL&A 2022
  • Ortwin Hess

    BSc(Erlangen 1987), MSc(TU Berlin 1990), PhD(TU Berlin 1993), Habilitation(Stuttgart, 1997) Professor of Quantum Nanophotonics, TCD Member, Science 2025
  • Alan Hibbert

    MA, DPhil(Oxon 1967) Emeritus Professor of Applied Mathematics, QUB Member, Science 2000
  • Desmond Gerard Higgins

    BA, PhD(Dubl 1981, 1988) Professor of Bioinformanics, UCD Member, Science 2007
  • Michael Daniel Higgins

    LLD(hc NUIG). HonFTCD President of Ireland Member, PL&A 2011


Tabhair tacaíocht do thodhchaí an léinn in Éirinn

Make a donation