The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA
  • Alvin Jackson

    MA, DPhil(Oxon 1986) Sir Richard Lodge Professor of History, Edinburgh Honorary Member, PL&A 2014
  • Alan Jacob

    Senior Information Technology Support Specialist, Information Technology
  • Arthur Jaffe

    BA (Princeton 1959), AB (Cantab 1961), PhD (Princeton 1966). Landon T. Clay Professor of Mathematics and Theoretical Science, Harvard University Honorary Member, Science 2009
  • Kathleen James-Chakraborty

    BA(Yale 1982), MA, PhD(Pennsylvania 1990) Professor of Art History, UCD Member, PL&A 2011
  • Pierre Joannon

    Doctorate of Law(Nice 1972) Hon. Consul General of Ireland in France, Irish Cultural Centre, Paris Member, PL&A 2021
  • Nuala C Johnson

    BA, MA(NUI 1983, 1985), PhD(Syracuse 1990) Professor of Geography, QUB Member, PL&A 2014
  • Michael Bevan Jones

    BA, PhD(Lanc 1968,1971). FTCD Member, EASAC Environment Steering Panel Emeritus Fellow, TCD Member, Science 2003
  • Alan Jones

    BSc(Nottm 1972), MSc(Birm 1973), PhD(Edinburgh 1977) Senior Professor Emeritus, DIAS Member, Science 2010
  • Alun Jones

    BA(Nottm 1980), MA(Durham 1982), PhD(Leicester 1986) Professor of Geography, UCD Member, Science 2011
  • David Simon Jones

    BSc(QUB 1985), PhD(QUB 1988), DSc(QUB 2006), BA(Open University 2014) Pro-Vice-Chancellor, QUB Member, Science 2022
  • David J. Judge

    MA, MSc, PhD(NUI) Emeritus Professor of Mathematical Physics, UCD Member, Science 1967
  • Balz Kamber

    MSc, PhD(Bern 1992, 1995) Professor in Petrology, QUT Member, Science 2018
  • Fabrice Kämpfen

    Young Academy Ireland Member Lecturer, Health Economist, UCD
  • Anthony (Tony) Kavanagh

    BSc, PhD(NUI 1979, 1984) Professor of Genetics, TCD Member, Science 2009
  • Joseph Keane

    Doctorate of Medicine(Dubl 1999), American Board of Pulmonary Medicine, Board Certified 1998, American Board of Internal Medicine, Board Certified 1997, Pulmonary and Critical Care Training Certification 1995, BSc(NUI 1993), MRCPUK 1991, MRCPI 1990, MB, BCh BAO(Dubl 1988) Professor of Medicine, TCD Member, Science 2021
  • Richard Marius Kearney

    BA(NUI), MA(McGill), PhD(Paris) Charles B. Seelig Chair of Philosophy, Boston College, USA Member, PL&A 1998
  • Patricia Maryclare Kearney

    MBBChBAO(NUI 1998), MRCPI(RCPI 2001), MPH(Tulane University 2002), PhD(Tulane University 2006), MFPHMI(RCPI 2021) Professor of Epidemiology, UCC Member, Science 2022
  • Gerry Kearns

    BA, PhD(Cantab 1978, 1985) Professor of Human Geography, MU Member, PL&A 2018
  • Neil Patrick Keatinge

    BA(Dubl), MSc(LSE), PhD(Dubl). FTCD(Emeritus) Retired Jean Monnet Professor of European Integration, TCD Member, PL&A 1992


Tabhair tacaíocht do thodhchaí an léinn in Éirinn

Make a donation