The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA
  • Peter John Bowler

    BA(Cantab), MSc(Sussex), PhD(Toronto). FBA Retired Professor, QUB Member, PL&A 1993
  • Derek Raymond Boyd

    BSc, PhD, DSc(QUB 1963, 1966, 1977) Emeritus Professor of Organic Chemistry, QUB Member, Science 2004
  • Geraldine B Boylan

    MA (UCC) MSc (UCL) PhD (KCL) Professor of Neonatal Physiology, UCC Member, Science 2022
  • Gerard Eugene Boyle

    BA(NUI 1977), MA(NUI 1978), PhD(NUI 1978) Director, Teagasc Member, PL&A 2010
  • Dr Damian Bracken

    University College Cork
  • Lydia Bracken

    Young Academy Ireland Member Senior Lecturer in Law and Assistant Dean for Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (AHSS), UL
  • Professor Daniel Gerard Mary Bradley

    BA, MA(Cantab), PhD(Dubl), FTCD Professor of Population Genetics Member, Science 2009
  • Hugh R Brady

    MBBCh, BAO, BSc, PhD, MD(NUI) Former President, UCD Member, Science 2009
  • Ciaran Francis Brady

    BA(Dubl 1974), PhD(1982 Dubl) Professor of Early Modern History and Historiography, TCD Member, PL&A 2014
  • John Brannigan

    BA(Thames Polytechnic, London 1991), MA(NUI 1992), PhD(Luton 1996) Professor of English, UCD Member, PL&A 2021
  • David J Brayden

    BSc(NUI 1984), MSc(NUI 1985), MPhil(Cantab 1986), PhD(Cantab 1986) Professor of Advanced Drug Delivery, UCD Member, Science 2024
  • Fran Brearton

    BA(Durham 1990), MA(QUB 1993), PhD(Durham 1998) Professor of Modern Poetry, QUB Member, PL&A 2018
  • Pádraig A Breatnach

    MA(NUI), DPhil(Munich) Professor of Classical Irish, UCD 1986-2006; editor of Éigse: A Journal of Irish Studies (NUI). Senior Professor, DIAS Member, PL&A 2003
  • Liam Breatnach

    Senior Professor, DIAS Member, PL&A 2000
  • Caoimhín Breatnach

    BA, MA, PhD(NUI 1981,1984,1990) Senior Lecturer, UCD Member, PL&A 2010
  • Richard Breen

    MA, PhD(Cantab), FBA Professor of Sociology and Fellow, Nuffield College Member, PL&A 1998
  • Niamh Máire Brennan

    BSc(NUI 1976), PhD(Warwick 1995), Fellow Chartered Accountants Ireland (1979), Chartered Director, Institute of Directors (London 2007) Michael MacCormac Professor of Management, UCD Member, PL&A 2020
  • Loretta Glucksman Brennan

    Member, PL&A 2004
  • Jennifer Brennan

    Director of Research, Development and Innovation, THEA
  • Patrick Bresnihan

    Young Academy Ireland Member Lecturer, MU
  • Ciara Brett

    Cork City Council
  • John David Brewer

    BA(Nottm 1973), MSSc(Birm 1976), DSSc(hc Brunel 2012) FRSE Vice-Chair of Social Sciences Committee Professor of Post Conflict Studies, QUB Member, PL&A 2004


Tabhair tacaíocht do thodhchaí an léinn in Éirinn

Make a donation