The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA
  • John Roger Graham Little

    MA(Dubl), PhD(Dunelm), LittD(Dubl). FTCD Retired Professor of French, TCD Member, PL&A 1993
  • David N. Livingstone

    BA(1975), PhD(QUB 1982), DLitt(hc UA 2013). OBE, FBA, AcSS, MAE, FRSA Professor of Geography, QUB Member, PL&A 1998
  • Madhusanka Liyanage

    Young Academy Ireland Member Assistant Professor/Ad Astra Fellow and Director of Graduate Research, UCD
  • David Robert Lloyd

    MA, PhD, ScD(Cantab). FTCD Retired Professor of General Chemistry, TCD Member, Science 1982
  • Tobias Lock

    Jean Monnet Chair in EU Law and Fundamental Rights
  • Patrick Lonergan

    BAgrSc, MAgrSc, PhD, DSc(NUI 1989, 1990, 1992, 2005) Professor of Animal Reproduction, UCD Member, Science 2012
  • Patrick Lonergan

    BA, MA, PHD Chair Language, Literature, Culture and Communication committee Professor of Drama and Theatre Studies, University of Galway Member, PL&A 2018
  • Kevin Long

    Digital Archivist, Digital Repository of Ireland
  • Edna Mary Longley

    BA(Dubl), LittD(hc Dubl 2003). FBA Emerita Professor of English Literature, QUB Member, PL&A 2000
  • Noel Lowndes

    BA (Dubl 1983), PhD (Glasgow 1987). RIA Secretary for Science Professor, Biochemistry, University of Galway Member, Science 2017
  • Geoffrey Roger Luckhurst

    Emeritus Professor of Chemical Physics Honorary Member, Science 2010
  • James Gerard Lunney

    BSc, PhD (QUB 1974, 1980) Emeritus Professor in Physics, TCD Member, Science 2008
  • Marina Annetta Lynch

    BSc, MSc(NUI 1974, 1976), PhD(Dubl 1980). FTCD Professor of Cellular Neuroscience, TCD. Member, Science 2009
  • Peter Lynch

    BSc, MSc(NUI 1968, 1969), PhD(Dubl 1982) Emeritus Professor of Meterology, UCD Member, Science 2012
  • Christopher Daniel Lynch

    DDSc(Cardiff 2019), PhD(NUI 2007), FDS Rest Dent(RCSI 2006), MFD(RCSI 2001), BDS(NUI 1999) Consultant/ Professor of Restorative Dentistry, UCC Member, Science 2023
  • Christopher J. Lynn

    BSc(QUB 1969), PhD(NUI 1986) Consultant Archaeologist Member, PL&A 2008
  • Michael Edward Gerard Lyons

    BSc(NUI, 1979), PhD(NUI, 1883), MA(Dubl 1988), ScD(Dubl 2021) Professor in Physical Chemistry, TCD Member, Science 2023
  • William Edward Lyons

    BA(ANU), MA(jo Calgary, Dublin), PhD(Dundee). FTCD Retired Professor of Moral Philosophy, TCD Member, PL&A 1994
  • Patricia Lysaght

    Barrister at Law(Kings Inns 1971), BA(NUI 1975), PhD(NUI 1982) Emerita Professor of European Ethnology, UCD Member, PL&A 2006
  • Marcas Mac Coinnigh

    Ollscoil na Banríona, Béal Feirste
  • Padraig Mac Con Uladh

    Bainisteoir, Foclóir Stairiúil na Gaeilge
  • Séamus Mac Mathúna

    BA, PhD(QUB). FRSA Professor of Irish and Celtic Studies, UU Member, PL&A 2006


Tabhair tacaíocht do thodhchaí an léinn in Éirinn

Make a donation