The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA
  • Cecily Catherine Kelleher

    MB BCH BAO(NUI 1980), MPH(NUI 1987), MD(NUI 1987), DMed(NUI 2014) Professor of Public Health Medicine and Epidemiology, UCD Member, Science 2020
  • Margaret Olivia Kelleher

    BA (NUI 1984), PhD(Boston College 1992) Professor and Chair of Anglo-Irish Literature, UCD Member, PL&A 2020
  • Dervla Kelly

    Young Academy Ireland Member Lecturer, UL
  • Mr Jim Kelly

    Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
  • Brendan Kelly

    Professor of Psychiatry/ Psychiatrist at Tallaght University Hospital, TCD/Tallaght University Hospital
  • John Moffat Kelly

    BSc(Manc), MSc(McMaster), PhD(Lond), ScD(Dublin). FRSC Retired Professor of Chemistry, TCD Member, Science 1998
  • James J. Kelly

    BA, MA, PhD(NUI) Professor of History and Head of School of History and Geography, Faculty of Humanities and Social Science, Dublin City University Member, PL&A 2003
  • Fergus Samuel Kelly

    BA(Dubl 1967), LittD(Dubl 1987) Senior Professor, DIAS Member, PL&A 2004
  • Mary Kelly

    BA, PhD(Dubl 1977, 1984), MBA(DCU 1992), DSc(hc Dubl 2022). RIA Treasurer Former Director General, Environmental Protection Agency Member, Science 2007
  • Morgan Kelly

    BA(Dubl 1984), PhD(Yale 1990) Professor of Economics, UCD Member, PL&A 2014
  • Helen Joan Kelly-Holmes

    BBS(UL 1991), PhD(Aston 1995) Professor of Applied Languages, UL Member, PL&A 2023
  • JA Scott Kelso

    BS(Calgary 1972), MSc(Wiscon 1973), PhD(Wiscon 1975) Florida Atlantic University Honorary Member, 2016
  • Jennifer Kenneally

    Senior Policy and International Relations Manager, Staff representative on Research for Public Policy Working Group, Policy and International Relations
  • Michael Kennedy

    Executive Editor, Documents on Irish Foreign Policy
  • Eugene Thomas Kennedy

    BSc, PhD(NUI). Emeritus Professor of Physics and Former Vice President for Research, DCU. Member, Science 2004
  • Michael Peter Kennedy

    BE(NUI), MS, EE, PhD(Calif 1987, 1991), DEng (NUI 2010). CEng, Professor of Microelectronic Engineering, UCD Member, Science 2004
  • Dennis Kennedy

    BA(S. Francisco), MA, PhD(Calif), MA(jo Dubl) Chair, Study of Languges, Literature, Culture and Communication Committee Samuel Beckett Professor of Drama and Theatre Studies, Trinity College Dublin Member, PL&A 2005
  • Geraldine Kennedy

    PhD(hc DIT 2005), DLitt(hc QUB 2007), LLD(hc NUI 2008) Member, PL&A 2008
  • Liam Kennedy

    BSc(UCC 1970), MSc(UCC 1974), DPhil(University of York 1978) Professor Emeritus Economic History, QUB Member, PL&A 2012
  • Rose Anne Kenny

    MB ChB(NUI 1977), MC(NUI 1986). FTCD, FRCPI SAPEA Working Group on Transforming the Future of Ageing Head of Department of Gerontology, TCD Member, Science 2014
  • Dermot Francis Keogh

    BA, MA, PhD Professor of History and Jean Monnet Professor of European Integration Studies, UCC Member, PL&A 2002
  • Boris Kholodenko

    MSc(MIPT Russia 1971), PhD(MIPT Russia 1976), DSc(MSU Russia 1989) Professor of Systems Biology, Deputy Director Systems Biology Ireland, Member Conway Institute, UCD Member, Science 2018
  • Declan Kiberd

    MA, DPhil Professor of Anglo-Irish Literature and Drama, UCD Member, PL&A 2003


Tabhair tacaíocht do thodhchaí an léinn in Éirinn

Make a donation