The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA
  • Ruth E. Whelan

    MA, HDipEd, DEA, PhD Professor of French, MU Member, PL&A 2000
  • Karl Whelan

    BA(Dubl 1991), PhD(MIT 1997) Professor of Economics, UCD Member, PL&A 2010
  • Bernadette Whelan

    BA(NUI 1981), MA(NUI 1984), PhD(NUI 1989) Associate Professor, UL Member, PL&A 2015
  • Harry White

    DMus(NUI), PhD(Dubl), MA(Toronto). FRIAM Hon, FASC Professor of Music, University College Dublin Member, PL&A 2006
  • David Whitehead

    BA, MA, PhD(Cantab 1972, 1976, 1975), DLit(QUB) Professor of Ancient History, QUB Member, PL&A 1999
  • David Clive Williams

    BSc, PhD(Wales). FTCD Professor of Chemical Biology, TCD. Member, Science 1996
  • Timothy Williamson

    BA(Oxon 1976), MA(Oxon 1981), DPhil(Oxon 1981), MA(ad eundem gradum Dubl 1986). FBA, FRSE Wykeham Professor of Logic, Oxford Honorary Member, PL&A 2014
  • Clair Wills

    MA(Oxon 1985), DPhil(Oxon 1989) Cambridge Honorary Member, PL&A 2015
  • David Wilson

    University of London Honorary Member, PL&A 1977
  • Kenneth H. Wolfe

    BA, PhD(Dubl 1986, 1986). FTCD Professor of Genomic Evolution, UCD Member, Science 2000
  • Colin Wrafter

    Formerly DFAT
  • Gerard T Wrixon

    BE(NUI), MSc(Caltech), PhD(Calif) Former University President, UCC Member, Science 1990
  • Niamh Wycherley

    Young Academy Ireland Member Medieval Historian, MU
  • Patrick Nevill Wyse Jackson

    BA(Dubl 1985), H.dip.Ed.(Dubl 1986), MA(Dubl 1990), PhD(Dubl 1992), ScD(Dubl 2017) University lecturer, TCD Member, Science 2022
  • Michael John Zaworotko

    BSc ARCS(Imperial College 1977), PhD(Alabama 1982). FRSC, FLSW Bernal Chair of Crystal Engineering, UL Member, Science 2019
  • K Matthew W Zepf

    BSc(Heidelberg 1993), DPhil(Oxon 1997) Member of Directorate, GSI Helmholtzzentrum für Schwerionenforschung GmbH, Helmholtz Institut Jena Member, Science 2015
  • Anding Zhu

    Chair Engineering and Computer Science committee UCD


Tabhair tacaíocht do thodhchaí an léinn in Éirinn

Make a donation