The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA
  • Danny Connellan

    Area Director of Mental Health Nursing, Dublin North City Mental Health Services
  • Seán Joseph Connolly

    BA, HDipEd(NUI 1972, 1973), DPhil(UU 1977) Professor of Irish History, QUB Member, PL&A 1995
  • Claire Connolly

    FLSW. BA, MA(NUI), PhD(Wales 1995). RIA PL&A Secretary Professor of Modern English, UCC Member, PL&A 2018
  • Jane Conroy

    BA, MA(NUI), D-ès-L(Sorbonne) Vice President Professor in French, University of Galway Member, PL&A 2003
  • Gay Conroy

    Irish Genealogical Research Society
  • Maeve Cooke

    BA(NUI), MA(NUI), DrPhil(Konstanz) Chair of Ethical, Political, Legal and Philosophical Studies Committee Professor of Philosophy, UCD Member, PL&A 2005
  • Brendan Gabriel Cooney

    BA, MA, PhD(NUI 1975, 1976, 1987) Associate Professor of Archaeology, UCD Member, PL&A 2004
  • Andrew Cooper

    BSc(QUB 1984), MSc(Natal, Durban 1987), PhD(Natal, Durban, 1991) UU Member, Science 2023
  • France Anne Córdova

    BA, PhD Director, National Science Foundation Honorary Member, Science 2017
  • John (Seán) Corish

    BSc, PhD(NUI), MA(Dubl) FTCD Professor of Physical Chemistry, TCD. Member, Science 1986
  • Karen Patrice Corrigan

    BA(NUI 1984), PhD(NUI 1997) Professor of Linguistics and English Language/Director of Research in Linguistics, Newcastle University Honorary Member, PL&A 2021
  • Derek Cosgrave

    Web Developer, Information Technology Member, 1970
  • Mary Cosgrove

    BA(NUI 1993), MA(NUI 1995), PhD(NUI 2002) Professor in German, TCD Member, 2022
  • Arthur Joseph Cosgrove

    BA, PhD Former President, UCD Member, PL&A 1997
  • Kevin Costello

    BA(Cantab 1999), PhD(Cantab 2003) Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics Honorary Member, Science 2019
  • Thomas Gerard Cotter

    BSc(NUI 1976), DPhil(Oxon 1979) Professor of Biochemistry, UCC Member, Science 2005
  • Marie Cowan

    BSc (QUB), PhD (QUB), Dip(IoD). PGeo (IGI) Director, Geological Survey of Northern Ireland Member, Science 2020
  • Rónadh Cox

    PhD(Stanford 1993), BSc(NUI 1985) Professor of Geosciences, Williams College Honorary Member, Science 2021
  • Peter Coxon

    BSc(Sussex), PhD(Cantab). FTCD Professor of Geography, TCD Member, Science 2002
  • William Hugh Galloway Crawley

    BA(QUB, 1990), MA(QUB, 1992), Div.(Princeton Theological Seminary, 1998) PhD(QUB, 1999), D.Lit. hc(QUB, 2012). FRSA Journalist, BBC Member, PL&A 2019


Tabhair tacaíocht do thodhchaí an léinn in Éirinn

Make a donation