The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA
  • Brian Philip McBreen

    PhD(NUI) Emeritus Professor, UCD Member, Science 1989
  • Vincent Joseph McBrierty

    BSc(QUB 1962), PhD(Lond 1965), ScD(Dubl 1979). FTCD(Emeritus) Retired Professor of Polymer Physics, TCD Member, Science 1983
  • Niamh McCabe

    Senior Programme Manager for Grants, Programmes and Engagement
  • Malachy McCann

    BSc(UU 1977), PhD(QUB 1980) Senior Lecturer in Chemistry, Maynooth Member, Science 2010
  • John Vincent McCanny

    BSc(1973), PhD(UU 1978), DSc(QUB 1998). Kt, CBE, FRS Director Institute of Electronics Communications and Information Technology, QUB Member, Science 2000
  • Daniel P. McCarthy

    BE(Western Australia), MA, PhD(Dubl). FTCD(Emeritus) Retired Lecturer Member, PL&A 2012
  • David John McConnell

    BA, PhD(CalTech). Member of EMBO, FZSI Fellow Emeritus, TCD Member, Science 1984
  • Barbara McCormack

    Librarian, Library
  • Danny McCoy

    BComm(NUI 1987), MEconSc(NUI 1988) CEO, IBEC Member, PL&A 2023
  • John Christopher McCrudden

    LLB(QUB 1974), LLM(Yale 1975), MA(Oxon 1980), DPhil(Oxon 1981), DCL(Oxon 2017), LLD(hc), FBA. CBE Professor of Human Rights and Equality Law, QUB Member, PL&A 2018
  • Frank McDermott

    N.C.E.A. Diploma (AIT) 1981, PhD (Open University) 1987 University Lecturer, UCD Member, Science 2020
  • Marianne McDonald

    BA(Bryn Mawr), MA(Chicago), PhD(Calif), DLitt(hc Athens 1994, NUI 1994, Thessaloniki 1997, Dubl 2001) Distinguished Professor Overscale, University of San Diego Member, PL&A 1993
  • Donald Patrick McDonnell

    PhD(Baylor 1987), BSc(Galway 1983) Professor, Duke University Honorary Member, Science 2023
  • Anthony Patrick McElligott

    BA(Essex 1981), PhD(Manchester 1991) Professor of History, UL Member, PL&A 2015
  • Michael Brendan McElroy

    BA (QUB 1960), AM, PhD, DSc (hc QUB). Gilbert Butler Professor of Environmental Sciences, Harvard University Honorary Member, Science 2009
  • Noel Gerard McElvaney

    MB, BCh BAO(NUI 1982), MRCPI 1984, FRCPC 1991, FRCPC 1992, FRCPI 1996, DSc(NUI 2019) Professor of Medicine, RCSI Member, Science 2021
  • Jennifer Claire McElwain

    BA(Dubl 1993), PhD(London 1997). Chair, Climate Change and Environmental Sciences Committee and EASAC Environmental Steering Panel Professor Earth Institute, School of Biology and Environmental Science, TCD Member, Science 2017
  • Kieran Patrick McEvoy

    LLB(QUB 1989), MSc(Edinburgh 1991), PhD(QUB 2000) Professor of Law and Transitional Justice, QUB Member, PL&A 2019
  • Fearghal Patrick McGarry

    PhD(Dubl 1998), BA(NUI 1992) Professor of Modern Irish History, QUB Member, PL&A 2019
  • Hannah McGee

    BA, BA Mod(NUI 1981), PhD(Dubl 1988), DSc(NUI 2015) Deputy Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, RCSI Member, PL&A 2022
  • John Finlay McGilp

    MA(Dubl, Oxon), PhD(Liv). CPhys, FInstP, Emeritus Fellow, TCD. Treasurer Former Professor of Surface and Interface Optics, TCD Member, Science 2003
  • Brian C McGing

    BA(Dubl, 1974), MA, PhD(University of Toronto, 1976, 1981). FTCD Regius Professor of Greek, TCD. Member, PL&A 2004


Tabhair tacaíocht do thodhchaí an léinn in Éirinn

Make a donation