The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA
  • Helene M McNulty

    BSc(Dubl 1987), Dip(DIT 1987), PhD(Dubl 1992). Director, Nutrition Innovation Centre for Food and Health (NICHE; 2016-) and Professor, Nutritional Sciences, UU Member, Science 2008
  • Edward Joseph McParland

    MSc, MA, PhD. FTCD Lecturer in the History of Art, TCD Member, PL&A 1996
  • Monica Mary McWilliams

    B.Soc.Sci (QUB), Masters in Town and Country Planning (QUB), Masters Urban Planning (Michigan) Professor, UU Member, PL&A 2023
  • Gerardine Meaney

    BA, MA, PhD(NUI 1990). Professor of Cultural Theory and Director of the Centre for Cultural Analytics, UCD Member, PL&A 2018
  • John Mee

  • Eucharia Meehan

    PhD(NUI 1993), PgDip(Dubl 1996), CDipAF(ACCA 1998). Registrar and CEO, DIAS Member, Science 2017
  • Andrew Alexander Meharg

    BSc(QUB 1986), PhD(Aberdeen 1989), FRSE Professor, QUB Member, Science 2018
  • Stephen Mennell

    MA(Cantab 1970), DrSocSc(Amsterdam 1985), LittD(Cantab 2004) Professor Emeritus of Sociology, UCD Member, PL&A 2009
  • Yves Mény

    BA, PhD President Emeritus European University Institute, Florence and President, Sant'Anna School for Higher Education Honorary Member, PL&A 2009
  • Thomas J. Millar

    BSc, PhD, DSc(Manc) Professor of Astrophysics , QUB Member, Science 2011
  • Andrew Mills

    Chair of Materials Chemistry, Queen's University Belfast Member, Science 2016
  • Kingston Henry Gordon Mills

    BA, PhD(Dubl 1975,1981) Professor of Experimental Immunology, TCD. Member, Science 2008
  • Alastair James Minnis

    BA(QUB), MA(hc Yale), PhD(QUB) Yale University Honorary Member, PL&A 2016
  • Thomas Noel Mitchell

    BA, MA(NUI), PhD(Cornell), LittD(Dubl). FTCD Former Provost and Professor of Latin, TCD Member, PL&A 1986
  • Peter Ian Mitchell

    BSc, PhD(NUI). CPhys Director, Radiation Physics Research Laboratory, UCD Member, Science 2006
  • Derick Mitchell

    IPPOSI ( The Irish Platform for Patient Organisations, Science and Industry )
  • Niamh Aine Moloney

    LLB(Dubl 1992), LLM(Harvard 1993). FBA Professor of Financial Markets Law, London School of Economics and Political Science Honorary Member, PL&A 2021
  • Rory Montgomery

    BA(Dubl 1981), MBA(Dubl 1983) Former Irish Diplomat, QUB, TCD Member, PL&A 2021
  • William Ian Montgomery

    BSc, PhD Professor of Animal Ecology, QUB Member, Science 2005


Tabhair tacaíocht do thodhchaí an léinn in Éirinn

Make a donation