The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA
  • Áine Hyland

    BA(NUI 1966), MEd(Dubl 1975), PhD(Dubl 1982), DLitt(hc NUI 2015), DSc(hc RCSI 2016) Chair of Social Sciences Committee Emeritus Professor, UCC Member, PL&A 2018
  • Paul Hynds

    TU Dublin
  • Stephen Hynes

    Science Advice for Policy by European Academies (SAPEA) Food from the Oceans Committee
  • George Francis Imbusch

    BSc(NUI), MSc(NUI), PhD(Stanford), DSc(NUI) Emeritus Professor of Experimental Physics, University of Galway Member, Science 1977
  • Attracta Ingram

    BA(NUI 1970), PhD(Dubl 1977) Emerita Professor of Politics (Moral and Political Philosophy), UCD Member, PL&A 2008
  • Alan David Irvine

    MB BCh BAO(QUB 1991), MD(QUB 1998), FRCPI(Royal College of Physicians of Ireland 2004), FRCP(Royal College of Physicians of London 2008), DSc(QUB 2016) Consultant Dermatologist/Professor of Dermatology, TCD, Children's Health Ireland, St James's Hospital Member, Science 2019
  • George William Irwin

    BSc, PhD, DSc(QUB) Emeritus Professor of Control Engineering, QUB Member, Science 2002
  • Dorota Stanislawa Iwaniec

    MA, DipEd(Jagiellonian University of Kraków 1962, 1963), DipSW, PhD(Leicester 1977, 1983), CQSW(1977) Emerita Professor of Social Work, QUB Member, PL&A 2007
  • Derek William Thomas Jackson

    BSc(UU 1990), PhD(UU 1993) Professor of Coastal Geomorphology, UU Member, Science 2021
  • Alvin Jackson

    MA, DPhil(Oxon 1986) Sir Richard Lodge Professor of History, Edinburgh Honorary Member, PL&A 2014
  • Alan Jacob

    Senior Information Technology Support Specialist, Information Technology
  • Arthur Jaffe

    BA (Princeton 1959), AB (Cantab 1961), PhD (Princeton 1966). Landon T. Clay Professor of Mathematics and Theoretical Science, Harvard University Honorary Member, Science 2009
  • Kathleen James-Chakraborty

    BA(Yale 1982), MA, PhD(Pennsylvania 1990) Professor of Art History, UCD Member, PL&A 2011
  • Pierre Joannon

    Doctorate of Law(Nice 1972) Hon. Consul General of Ireland in France, Irish Cultural Centre, Paris Member, PL&A 2021
  • Nuala C Johnson

    BA, MA(NUI 1983, 1985), PhD(Syracuse 1990) Professor of Geography, QUB Member, PL&A 2014
  • Michael Bevan Jones

    BA, PhD(Lanc 1968,1971). FTCD Member, EASAC Environment Steering Panel Emeritus Fellow, TCD Member, Science 2003
  • Alan Jones

    BSc(Nottm 1972), MSc(Birm 1973), PhD(Edinburgh 1977) Senior Professor Emeritus, DIAS Member, Science 2010
  • Alun Jones

    BA(Nottm 1980), MA(Durham 1982), PhD(Leicester 1986) Professor of Geography, UCD Member, Science 2011
  • David Simon Jones

    BSc(QUB 1985), PhD(QUB 1988), DSc(QUB 2006), BA(Open University 2014) Pro-Vice-Chancellor, QUB Member, Science 2022
  • David J. Judge

    MA, MSc, PhD(NUI) Emeritus Professor of Mathematical Physics, UCD Member, Science 1967


Tabhair tacaíocht do thodhchaí an léinn in Éirinn

Make a donation