The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA
  • Michael James McGlinchey

    BSc, PhD(Manc 1965,1968) Professor of Inorganic Chemistry, UCD Member, Science 2008
  • Patrick McGorry

    MBBS(Sydney 1977), PhD(Monash 1991), MD(Melbourne 2002), LLD(hc Monash 2011), MD(hc Newcastle, Australia 2011), PhD(hc Haifa, Israel 2012), DSc(hc RCSI 2022) Psychiatrist and University Professor, University of Melbourne and Orygen Youth Mental Health Research Institute Honorary Member, Science 2023
  • James Ivan McGuire

    MA, DLitt(hc NUI) Chairman, Irish Manuscripts Commission 2003-2017; Adjunct Professor, School of History and Archives, UCD Member, PL&A 2007
  • Peter Edward McHugh

    BE, ScM, PhD Policy and International Relations Secretary, EASAC Council Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Deputy President and Registrar, University of Galway Member, Science 2011
  • Patrick Gerald McKenna

    BSc(UU 1976), PhD(QUB 1979), DSc(hc NUI), LLD(hc QUB). FSB, CBiol, FIBMS, FRSA Member of Seven Academies Group Hon Executive Secretary and President Emeritus, Heads of University Centres of Biomedical Science (HUCBMS), Professor Emeritus and former Vice Chancellor, UU Member, Science 2001
  • Jennifer McMahon

    Young Academy Ireland Member Psychologist
  • Stephen McMahon

    Services Officer, Facilities
  • Peter Damian J McManus

    BA, PhD(Dubl 1977, 1982) Professor of Early Irish, TCD Member, PL&A 2009
  • Maria Eithne McNamara

    PhD(NUI 2007), BSc(NUI 2002) Professor of Palaeontology, UCC Member, Science 2024
  • Martin Joseph McNamara

    STL, DSS(Rome 1954, 1965), PhD(NUI 1976) Emeritus Professor of Sacred Scripture, Milltown Institute Member, PL&A 1981
  • Helene M McNulty

    BSc (Dubl 1987), Dip (DIT 1987), PhD (Dubl 1992). Director, Nutrition Innovation Centre for Food and Health (NICHE; 2016-) and Professor, Nutritional Sciences, UU Member, Science 2008
  • Edward Joseph McParland

    MSc, MA, PhD. FTCD Lecturer in the History of Art, TCD Member, PL&A 1996
  • Monica Mary McWilliams

    B.Soc.Sci (QUB), Masters in Town and Country Planning (QUB), Masters Urban Planning (Michigan) Professor, UU Member, PL&A 2023
  • Gerardine Meaney

    BA, MA, PhD(NUI 1990). Professor of Cultural Theory and Director of the Centre for Cultural Analytics, UCD Member, PL&A 2018
  • John Mee

  • Eucharia Meehan

    PhD (NUI 1993), PgDip(Dubl 1996), CDipAF(ACCA 1998) Registrar and CEO, DIAS Member, Science 2017
  • Andrew Alexander Meharg

    BSc(QUB 1986), PhD(Aberdeen 1989), FRSE Professor, QUB Member, Science 2018
  • Stephen Mennell

    MA(Cantab 1970), DrSocSc(Amsterdam 1985), LittD(Cantab 2004) Professor Emeritus of Sociology, UCD Member, PL&A 2009
  • Yves Mény

    BA, PhD President Emeritus European University Institute, Florence and President, Sant'Anna School for Higher Education Honorary Member, PL&A 2009
  • Thomas J. Millar

    BSc, PhD, DSc(Manc) Professor of Astrophysics , QUB Member, Science 2011


Tabhair tacaíocht do thodhchaí an léinn in Éirinn

Make a donation