The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA
  • Joe Devlin

    Process Development Director, Boston Scientific
  • John Frederick Dewey

    BSc (Lond 1958), PhD, DIC (Imperial College London 1960, 1960), MA (Cantab 1965, Oxon 1986), ScD (Cantab 1987), DSc (Oxon 1988, hc Memorial University of Newfoundland 1995, hc NUI 1998) Distinguished Emeritus Professor of Geology, University of California, Davis Honorary Member, Science 2008
  • Dermot Diamond

    BSc, MSc, PhD, DSc(QUB 1976, 1983, 1987, 2002) Director, National Centre for Sensor Research, DCU Member, Science 2014
  • Frédéric Dias

    PhD, Habilitation Thematic Senior Professor, UCD Member, Science 2016
  • David Jocelyn Dickson

    BA, PhD(Dubl). FTCD Professor of Modern History, TCD Member, PL&A 2006
  • John Myles Dillon

    MA(Oxon, Dubl), PhD(Berkeley). FTCD Regius Professor of Greek, TCD Member, PL&A 1983
  • Charles Dillon

    Eagarthóir, Foclóir Stairiúil na Gaeilge
  • Philip Douglas Dine

    MA(Dundee 1980), PhD(Stirling 1990) Personal Professor in French, University of Galway Member, PL&A 2021
  • Victor Frederick Dixon

    BA, MA, PhD(Cantab 1954, 1959, 1959), MA(Dubl 1976). FTCD Emeritus Professor of Hispanic Studies, TCD Member, PL&A 2007
  • Alan DW Dobson

    BSc(NUI 1981), PhD(NUI 1985), DSc(NUI 2005). CBiol Professor, UCC Member, Science 2013
  • Raymond Dolan

    MB, BCh BAO, MD (NUI 1977, 1988), FRS Mary Kinross Professor of Neuropsychiatry, University College London. Honorary Member, Science 2011
  • Eimear Dolan

    Young Academy Ireland Member Assistant Professor in Biomedical Engineering, University of Galway
  • James Oliver Dolly

    BSc, MSc(NUI 1966, 1968), PhD(Wales 1972), DSc(Lond 2002) Director, International Centre for Neurotherapeutics, DCU Member, Science 2007
  • Patricia Donlon

    PhD, DLitt, DipLis Retired Director, National Library of Ireland Member, PL&A 1992
  • Hastings Donnan

    BA (QUB 1975), DPhil (Sussex 1981), FBA, FAcSS Chair, Michel Déon Judging Panel Professor of Anthropology and Director, The Senator George J. Mitchell Institute for Global Peace, Security and Justice, QUB Member, PL&A 2001
  • Marie C Donnelly

    BSc(NUI 1975), MBA(Dubl 1977) Chair, Climate Change Advisory Council Member, Science 2022
  • Dervilla M.X. Donnelly

    BSc, PhD, DSc, ScD(hc DUB), DSc(hc QUB), DSc(hc Nottm) LLD(hc NUI) Emerita Professor of Phytochemistry UCD and Chair, DIAS Foundation Member, Science 1968
  • Gary Donohoe

    BA, BD, HDipPsych, MPsychSc(NUI), MA, DClinPsych, PhD(Dubl) Professor of Psychology, University of Galway Member, Science 2022
  • John Donovan

    Head of Research, DIT
  • Fiona Maria Doohan

    BSc(NUI 1994), PhD(Open University 1998) Professor of Plant Health, UCD Member, Science 2022


Tabhair tacaíocht do thodhchaí an léinn in Éirinn

Make a donation