The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA
  • William James Spillane

    BSc, PhD, DSc(NUI). FICI Professor of Organic Chemistry, University of Galway Member, Science 2008
  • Roger Andrew Stalley

    MA(Oxon), MA(Lond), MA(Dubl). FTCD Former Professor of History of Art, TCD Member, PL&A 1993
  • Catherine Gerardine Stanton

    BSc(NUI 1983), MSc(NUI 1986), PhD(Bournemouth 1988), DSc(NUI 2009) Senior Principal Research Officer/Research Professor, Teagasc/UCC Member, Science 2019
  • Martin William Steer

    PhD(QUB), DSc(Brist) Emeritus Professor of Botany, UCD Member, Science 1990
  • David Stifter

    Mag.Phil(Vienna 1998), Dr.Phil(Vienna 2003) Professor of Old and Middle Irish, MU Member, PL&A 2022
  • Alan Stitt

    BSc(QUB 1989), PhD(QUB 1991) McCauley Chair of Experimental Ophthalmology, QUB Member, Science 2018
  • Rowland Alexander Ker Stout

    BA Hons/MA(Oxon 1980), MSc(Sussex 1983), BPhil(Oxon 1987), DPhil(Oxon 1991) University Professor, UCD Member, PL&A 2019
  • John Joseph Séan Strain

    BSc, BAgr, PhD(QUB), DipEd(Newcastle, Australia), Reg. Nutr(Nutrition Society) Co-Director, Centre for Molecular Biosciences and Professor of Human Nutrition, UU. Member, Science 2002
  • Una Sugrue

    Conservation Architect, Grangegorman Development Agency
  • Dennis Parnell Sullivan

    BS (Rice University), (PhD Princeton University) Research Mathematician and Maths Professor, Stony Brook University Honorary Member, Science 2011
  • Da-Wen Sun

    BSc, MSc, PhD(South China University of Technology 1982, 1985, 1988) Professor of Food and Biosystems Engineering, UCD Member, Science 2010
  • Patrick David Sweetman

    BA, MA(NUI 1967, 1969) Retired Consultant Archaeologist, Department of Arts, Heritage, Gaeltacht and the Islands Member, PL&A 1985
  • Etain Tannam

    Fellow of Trinity College Dublin, BA Trinity College Dublin, MA University of essex, PhD, London School of Economics) Associate Professor International Peace Studies Trinity College Dublin, Trinity College Dublin
  • Kenneth Thomas Andrew Taylor

    BSc, PhD(QUB) Member, Science 2005
  • David Taylor

    BA, MA, PhD(Cantab 1977,1980, 1981), ScD(Cantab 2003) Professor of Materials Engineering, TCD Member, Science 2009
  • Cormac T Taylor

    BSc(NUI), PhD(NUI) Associate Professor of Cellular Physiology, UCD Member, Science 2013
  • Tigran Hakop Tchrakian

    BSc(Lond), ARCS(Imperial College, London 1963), PhD(Edinburgh 1967) Professor of Mathematical Physics, Maynooth Member, Science 2006
  • Virginia Teehan

    BA(NUI 1983), MPhil(Dubl 1987), DipArchSc(NUI 1984), MBA(NUI 2019) Chief Executive Officer, Heritage Council Member, PL&A 2022
  • Emma Teeling

    BSc, MSc, PhD Professor, University College Dublin Member, Science 2016
  • Don Thornhill

    BSc, PhD(NUI 1972), MSc(Dubl 1985), D Ed(hc NUI) Former Secretary General, Department of Education and Science (1993-1998) and former Chairman, Higher Education Authority (1998-2005). Chairman, National Competitiveness Council and Chair, Hibernia College Ltd. Member, PL&A 2000
  • Karen Elizabeth Till

    BA(UCLA 1986), MA(UCLA 1990), PhD(University of Wisconsin-Madison 1996) Professor of Cultural Geography, MU Member, PL&A 2020
  • Keith Francis Tipton

    BSc(St Andrews), MA, PhD(Cantab), MA(Dubl). FTCD Professor of Biochemistry, TCD Member, Science 1984


Tabhair tacaíocht do thodhchaí an léinn in Éirinn

Make a donation