The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA
  • Mary Elizabeth Daly

    BA, MA(NUI 1969, 1971), DPhil(Oxon 1978) Professor Modern Irish History, UCD Member, PL&A 1991
  • Mary Daly

    BSocSc, MSocSci, PhD(EUI Florence) Professor of Sociology and Social Policy, Oxford. Member, PL&A 2010
  • Nicholas Paul Daly

    BA(NUI 1987), MA(NUI 1989), PhD(Brown 1995) Professor of Modern English and American Literature, UCD Member, PL&A 2015
  • Kevin Gerard Daly

    Young Academy Ireland Member Geneticist
  • John Davenport

    BSc(Lond), MSc(Southampton), PhD(Wales), DSc(Lond). FRSE Emeritus Professor, UCC Member, Science 2001
  • Anna Davies

    BA(Cantab 1992), MSc(Oxford Brookes 1994), PhD(Cantab 1999) Chair of Geography, Environment and Society, TCD Member, PL&A 2017
  • J.C. Séamus Davis

    BSc(NUI 1983), PhD(University of California, Berkeley 1989), DSc(NUI 2013) Professor, UCC/Oxford/Cornell Member, Science 2020
  • Kenneth Adrian Dawson

    MSc, DPhil(Oxon) Professor of Physical Chemistry, UCD Member, Science 1994
  • Catherine Day

    BA, MA Chair, Governing Authority, UCC Member, PL&A 2016
  • Fionntán De Brún

    Ollscoil Mhá Nuad
  • Pádraig de Brún

    MA, DLitt Former Professor of Celtic Studies, DIAS Member, PL&A 1994
  • Sorcha de Brún

    Ollscoil Luimnigh
  • Gráinne de Búrca

    BCL(NUI 1986), LLM(Michigan 1987), Titular MA(Oxon1990), Titular MA(Harvard 2010) Professor of Law, New York University Honorary Member, PL&A 2022
  • Annraoi Máire de Paor

    BE(NUI 1961), MS(Calif 1963), PhD(NUI 1967), DSc(NUI 1974), PhD(hc DIT, 2004). FIEI, FIET, FIMA, MInstMC Emeritus Professor of Electrical Engineering, UCD Member, Science 1981
  • Pádraig de Paor

    Coláiste na Tríonóide
  • Amilra Prasanna de Silva

    BSc(Colombo), PhD(QUB) Professor of Chemistry, QUB Member, Science 2002
  • Stefan Decker

    Dipl. Inform. (Kaiserslautern), Dr. rer. pol. (PhD) (University of Karlsruhe) Professor for Database and Information Systems, Director Fraunhofer FIT, RWTH Aachen University, Germany Member, Science 2010
  • Mary Deevy

    Chair of Standing Committee for Archaeology Transport Infrastructure Ireland
  • Mr Pauric Dempsey

    Executive Director (Dublin), Keough Naughton Institute of Irish Studies
  • Spyridon Dendrinos

    Chair Physical, Chemical and Mathematical Sciences committee UCC
  • Susan Denham

    BA, LLB(Dubl), Barrister-at-Law(King's Inns, Dublin), LLM(Colombia), Senior Counsel, LLD(hc QUB 2002, UU 2012) Chief Justice of Ireland and Judge, Supreme Court of Ireland. Member, PL&A 2012
  • Paul J Devereux

    BA, MA, PhD Head of School of Economics, University College Dublin Member, PL&A 2016
  • Thomas Martin Devine

    Kt MAE, OBE, BA, PhD, DLitt, DLitt(hc QUB, Abertay), HonDUniv (Strathclyde), FSAScot, FRHist S, FRSE, FBA Personal Senior Research Chair of History, University of Edinburgh Honorary Member, PL&A 2001
  • Kevin M Devine

    BSc(NUI), PhD(DU). FTCD Professor in Genetics, TCD Member, Science 2013


Tabhair tacaíocht do thodhchaí an léinn in Éirinn

Make a donation