The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA
  • Maurice J. Bric

    MA(NUI), AM, PhD(Johns Hopkins) Associate Professor of History, UCD Member, PL&A 2000
  • Derek E.G Briggs

    BA(Dubl), PhD(Cantab), ScD(hc Dubl) G. Evelyn Hutchinson Professor of Geology and Geophysics, and Curator-in-charge, Invertebrate Paleontology, Yale University Honorary Member, Science 2003
  • Peter Brown

    Director, Program in Hellenic Studies and Philip and Beulah Rollins Professor of History, Princeton University Honorary Member, PL&A 2010
  • Terence Peter McCord Brown

    GMG, MA, PhD(Dubl) Professor of Anglo-Irish Literature, TCD Member, PL&A 1992
  • Kath Browne

    PhD(Gloucestershire 2003), MA(Sheffield 1999), BSc(Loughborough 1998) Chair Geography and Geosciences committee Professor, UCD Member, PL&A 2022
  • James Joseph Browne

    BE(NUI 1974), MEngSc(NUI 1978), PhD(UMIST 1990), DSc(UMIST 1990) University of Galway Member, Science 2005
  • Janet Elizabeth Browne

    BA(Dubl 1972), MSc(Imperial College 1973), PhD(Imperial College 1978), DSc (hc Dubl 2009) Professor, Harvard University Honorary Member, PL&A 2019
  • Joanna Brück

    BA(Cantab 1993), PhD(Cantab 1998) Professor of Archaeology, UCD Member, PL&A 2023
  • Ronald Hull Buchanan

    BA, PhD(QUB) Emeritus Professor of Irish Geography, QUB Member, PL&A 1987
  • Stephen Michael Buckley

    BSc, MSc(NUI 1983, 1984), MS(Chicago 1985), PhD(Chicago 1990) Professor, MU Member, Science 2018
  • Yvonne Maria Buckley

    BA(Oxon 1997), PhD(Imperial College, 2002), DIC(Imperial College, 2002), MA jo(Dubl, 2014). Professor of Zoology, TCD Member, Science 2019
  • Yensi Flores Bueso

    Young Academy Ireland Member Molecular Biologist, UCC
  • Robert Burch

    BSc, PhD, DSc(QUB) Research Professor in Catalysis, QUB Member, Science 2006
  • Mark Thornton Burnett

    BA(Exeter 1983), MA(San Diego), D.Phil(Oxon 1990) Professor of Renaissance Studies, QUB Member, PL&A 2010
  • Duncan Thorburn Burns

    BSc(Leeds 1955), PhD(Leeds 1959), DSc(Loughborough 1972), MA(QUB 1992). FRSE Adjunct Professor, Kasetsart University; Emeritus Professor of Chemistry, Visiting Research Professor, QUB. Member, Science 1984
  • Michael Burton

    Armagh Observatory and Planetarium
  • Geraldine Butler

    BA(Dubl 1984), PhD(Dubl 1989) Professor of Genetics, UCD Member, Science 2015
  • Ruth Mary Josephine Byrne

    BA(NUI 1983), PhD(Dubl 1987), FTCD Professor of Cognitive Science (Personal Chair), TCD. Member, Science 2007
  • Dr Angela Byrne

    Website and Copy Editor
  • Lorraine Byrne Bodley

    BA(NUI 1988, 1995), HDip(NUI 1989), PhD(NUI 1999), DMus(NUI 2012) Professor of Musicology, Department of Music, MU Member, PL&A 2015
  • Geraldine Byrne Nason

    BA, MA(NUI), Dip(NYU) Ireland's Permanent Representative to the United Nations, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade Member, PL&A 2014


Tabhair tacaíocht do thodhchaí an léinn in Éirinn

Make a donation