The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA
  • Sabine Egger

    Mary Immaculate College, Limerick
  • Marianne Elliott

    MA, PhD. FBA, FRHistS Liverpool University Honorary Member, PL&A 2016
  • Christopher Trevor Elliott

    MSc(Ulster), PhD(QUB) QUB Member, Science 2020
  • Steven Godfrey Ellis

    BA, MA(Manchester 1973, 1974), PhD(QUB 1979), DLitt(NUI 1988) Chair, Historical Studies Committee Established Professor of History and Head of School of Humanities, University of Galway Member, PL&A 2012
  • Robert William Elwood

    BSc, PhD(Reading 1972, 1975) Professor of Animal Behaviour, QUB Member, Science 2008
  • Paul Cowper Engel

    BA(Oxon 1965), MA(Oxon), DPhil(Oxon 1968) Professor of Biochemistry, UCD Member, Science 2001
  • Niall English

    BE(NUI 2000), PhD(NUI 2004), PG Cert(NUI 2010) Professor, inventor, entrepreneur, chartered engineer, UCD Member, Science 2024
  • Richard English

    MA(Oxon 1985), PhD(Keele 1990) Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Internationalisation and Engagement, QUB Member, PL&A 2009
  • Konstantin Ermolin

    Library Assistant, Library
  • James Stewart Fairley

    BSc, PhD, DSc(QUB 1962, 1965, 1989) Retired Professor of Zoology, University of Galway Member, Science 1993
  • Padraic Gerard Fallon

    BSc(East London 1990), MSc, PhD(Wales 1992, 1995), MA(Dubl 2010). FTCD Professor of Translational Immunology, TCD Member, Science 2014
  • Fengzhou Fang

    PhD(Harbin Institute of Technology 1994), BE(Heilongjiang University of Science and Technology 1982) Professor, UCD Member, Science 2023
  • David Farrell

    BA, MA(NUI), PhD (European University Institute) RIA Vice President for Sustainability and Engagement Chair of Politics, UCD. Member, PL&A 2013
  • Emma Farrell

    Young Academy Ireland Member Interdisciplinary Researcher
  • Niall Farrell

    Young Academy Ireland Member Energy and Environmental Economist
  • Catherine Drew Gilpin Faust

    BA, AM, PhD (Penn) President, Harvard University Honorary Member, PL&A 2009
  • David Feakins

    BSc, PhD, Sc(Lond). FRSC Emeritus Professor of Physical Chemistry, UCD Member, Science 1976
  • John Feehan

    BA(Dubl 1974), MA(Dubl 1977), MSc(Dubl 1977), PhD(Dubl 1980) Retired University Lecturer, UCD Member, Science 2021
  • Orla Feely

    BE(NUI 1986), MS(Berkeley 1990), PhD(Berkeley 1992) Vice-President for Research, Innovation and Impact, UCD Member, Science 2015
  • David John Fegan

    BSc, MSc, PhD(NUI 1966, 1967, 1970) Emeritus Professor of Astrophysics, UCD Member, Science 1997


Tabhair tacaíocht do thodhchaí an léinn in Éirinn

Make a donation