The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA
  • Peter Shirlow

    Blair Chair
  • Maria Shmygol

    Marie Skłodowska-Curie Research Fellow, University of Galway
  • Frank Shovlin

    BA, MA (NUI); M.St., D. Phil (Oxon) Professor of Irish Literature in English, Institute of Irish Studies, University of Liverpool
  • Anngret Simms

    Staatsexamen(Cologne), PhD(Giessen) Professor Emerita, School of Geography and Planning, UCD. Member, PL&A 1994
  • Mary Katharine Simms

    BA, PhD(Dubl) Lecturer in Medieval History, TCD Member, PL&A 2008
  • Peter Murray Simons

    BSc(Manc 1971), MA(Manchester 1973), PhD(Manchester 1975), Habilitation(Salzburg 1986), MA(jure officiis Dubl 2010), PhD(hc Bolton 2012). FTCD, FBA, Foreign Member Polish Academy of Sciences Chair of Moral Philosophy, Trinity College Dublin Member, PL&A 2013
  • Patrick Sims-Williams

    BA, MA(Cantab 1972, 1975), PhD(Birmingham 1980) Emeritus Professor of Celtic Studies, Aberystwyth University Honorary Member, PL&A 2020
  • Quentin R D Skinner

    University of Cambridge Honorary Member, PL&A 1999
  • Fidelma Slattery

    Graphic Design Manager , Publications
  • James A. Slevin

    MSc(QUB), PhD(CUNY) Emeritus Professor of Physics, Maynooth Member, Science 1991
  • Michael Anthony Slote

    AB(Harvard), MA(Dubl), PhD(Harvard) Professor of Ethics, University of Miami Member, PL&A 1984
  • Stephen J Smartt

    BSc(QUB 1991), PhD(QUB 1996) Professor of Physics and Director, QUB Member, Science 2012
  • Alan Francis Smeaton

    BSc(NUI), MSc(NUI), PhD(NUI) Chair, Engineering and Computer Science Committee Professor of Computing, DCU Member, Science 2013
  • Andrew Smith

    BA, PhD(Hull) Emeritus Professor of Classics, University College Dublin Member, PL&A 2000
  • Francis Jack Smith

    MA(Cath Univ America), PhD(QUB) Retired Professor of Computer Science, QUB Member, Science 1976
  • Fiona Smyth

    Associate Professor , UCD
  • William John Smyth

    BA, PhD(NUI 1965,1969) Emeritus Professor of Geography, UCC Member, PL&A 1999
  • Malcolm Roland Smyth

    BSc(QUB 1972), PhD(Lond 1976), DSc(QUB 1990) Dean, Faculty of Science and Health, DCU Member, Science 2003
  • Barry Smyth

    BSc(NUI) PhD(Dubl) Digital Chair of Computer Science, UCD Member, Science 2011
  • Jessica Smyth

    Vice-Chair of Standing Committee for Archaeology UCD
  • Robert M Solow

    Professor of Economics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Honorary Member, PL&A 1999
  • Thomas David Spearman

    MA(Dubl), PhD(Cantab). FTCD(Emeritus) Former Professor of Natural Philosphy, TCD Member, Science 1975
  • Brian Spencer

    BSc, PhD(Liver), MA, ScD(Dubl). FTCD(Hon) Retired Professor of Biochemistry, TCD Member, Science 1964


Tabhair tacaíocht do thodhchaí an léinn in Éirinn

Make a donation