The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA
  • Siddhartha Sen

    BSc, MSc, DipNucPhys(Calcutta), ScD(MIT), MA(Dubl). FTCD(Emeritus) Emeritus Fellow, TCD Member, Science 2002
  • Amartya Kumar Sen

    BA (Presidency College, Calcutta 1953), BA, PhD (Cantab 1955, 1959). Thomas W. Lamont University Professor and Professor of Economics and Philosophy, Harvard University Honorary Member, PL&A 2009
  • Fergus Shanahan

    MB BCh BAO(NUI 1977), BSc (NUI 1979), MD(NUI 1985), DSc(NUI 2014) Chair, Department of Medicine, UCC Member, Science 2017
  • Robert Gray Shanks

    MD, DSc, LLD(Hon). FRCPI Emeritus Professor of Pharmacology, QUB. Member, Science 1987
  • Patrick Mary Shannon

    BSc, PhD. FEI, PGeo, EurGeol Emeritus Professor of Geology, UCD Member, Science 2003
  • Paul Martin Sharp

    BSc, PhD(Edin 1979, 1982). FRS, FRSE Professor of Genetics, University of Edinburgh Member, Science 1993
  • Samson Shatashvili

    PhD, DSc(Leningrad 1984, 1990) Chair of Natural Philosophy, TCD Member, Science 2007
  • Elizabeth Shee Twohig

    BA, MA, PhD(NUI) Former Lecturer, UCC Member, PL&A 1995
  • Geraldine Sheridan

    BA, H Dip Ed, MA (NUI), PhD (Warwick) Professor Emerita in French, University of Limerick Member, PL&A 2012
  • Hugh Shiels

    Facilities Manager, Facilities
  • Peter Shirlow

    Blair Chair
  • Peter Shirlow

    Blair Chair, University of Liverpool
  • Maria Shmygol

    Young Academy Ireland Member Marie Skłodowska-Curie Research Fellow, University of Galway
  • Frank Shovlin

    BA, MA (NUI); M.St., D. Phil (Oxon) Professor of Irish Literature in English, Institute of Irish Studies, University of Liverpool
  • Anngret Simms

    Staatsexamen(Cologne), PhD(Giessen) Professor Emerita, School of Geography and Planning, UCD. Member, PL&A 1994
  • Mary Katharine Simms

    BA, PhD(Dubl) Lecturer in Medieval History, TCD Member, PL&A 2008
  • Peter Murray Simons

    BSc(Manc 1971), MA(Manchester 1973), PhD(Manchester 1975), Habilitation(Salzburg 1986), MA(jure officiis Dubl 2010), PhD(hc Bolton 2012). FTCD, FBA, Foreign Member Polish Academy of Sciences Chair of Moral Philosophy, Trinity College Dublin Member, PL&A 2013
  • Patrick Sims-Williams

    BA, MA(Cantab 1972, 1975), PhD(Birmingham 1980) Emeritus Professor of Celtic Studies, Aberystwyth University Honorary Member, PL&A 2020
  • Quentin R D Skinner

    University of Cambridge Honorary Member, PL&A 1999
  • Fidelma Slattery

    Graphic Design Manager , Publications
  • James A. Slevin

    MSc(QUB), PhD(CUNY) Emeritus Professor of Physics, Maynooth Member, Science 1991
  • Michael Anthony Slote

    AB(Harvard), MA(Dubl), PhD(Harvard) Professor of Ethics, University of Miami Member, PL&A 1984


Tabhair tacaíocht do thodhchaí an léinn in Éirinn

Make a donation