The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA
  • Brian Dominic MacCraith

    BSc, MSc, PhD(NUI) President, DCU Member, Science 2007
  • Joe MacDonagh

    TU Dublin
  • Michael MacDonagh

    National Monuments Service
  • Alasdair MacIntyre

    Professor of Philosophy, University of Notre Dame Honorary Member, PL&A 1999
  • Malcolm MacLachlan

    BSc(Cardiff 1983), PhD(Dundee 1986), MSc(Lond 1988), DipBA(Strathclyde 1990), MA(Dubl 1999), MA (jo). FTCD Professor of Psychology and Social Inclusion, Maynooth University Member, PL&A 2005
  • Deirdre Madden

    BCL(NUI 1987), LLM(NUI 1988), BL(Honourable Society of Kings Inns 1989), PhD(NUI 2000) Professor of Law, UCC Member, PL&A 2020
  • Áine Madden

    Senior Programme and Communications Manager, Digital Repository of Ireland
  • Conchúr Mag Eacháin

    Eagarthóir Cúnta, Foclóir Stairiúil na Gaeilge
  • Hugh Magennis

    BA, MA, PhD(QUB 1970, 1972, 1981) Emeritus Professor of English, QUB Member, PL&A 2006
  • Christine A Maggs

    BA, MA(Oxon 1978), PhD(NUI 1983) Executive Dean Of The Faculty Of Science & Technology, Bournemouth Member, Science 2013
  • Fiona Caroline Magowan

    DPhil(Oxon 1995), MSt(Oxon 1989), BA(Nottingham1988) Professor of Anthropology, QUB Member, PL&A 2023
  • Anita Rose Maguire

    BSc(NUI 1985), PhD(NUI 1989) Professor of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Director ABCRF, UCC Member, Science 2014
  • Eleanor Maguire

    BA, PhD, FMEDSCI, FRS Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience, University College London Honorary Member, Science 2017
  • Anne Elizabeth Magurran

    BSc, DPhil(Ulster 1976, 1981), FRSE Professor of Ecology and Evolution, University of St Andrews Honorary Member, Science 2020
  • Imelda Maher

    BCL(NUI), LLM(Temple) BL(King's Inns). RIA Senior Vice-President Sutherland Full Professor of European Law, UCD Member, PL&A 2011
  • Anthony Peter William Malcomson

    BA, MA(Cantab), PhD(QUB 1970) Retired Director, Public Record Office, Belfast Member, PL&A 1987
  • Abdollah Malekjafarian

    Young Academy Ireland Member Assistant Professor and the leader of Structural Dynamics and Assessment Laboratory (SDA-Lab), UCD
  • Sinisa Malesevic

    BA(University of Zagreb 1993), MA, Dipl(Central European University/Lancaster University 1995,1996), PhD(UCC 1999) Professor of Sociology & Head of School of Sociology, UCD Member, PL&A 2010
  • Louise Mallinder

    BA, LLM, PhD(QUB 2001, 2003, 2007) Law Professor, QUB Member, PL&A 2024
  • James P Mallory

    AB(Occidental 1967), PhD(Calif 1975) Emeritus Professor of Prehistoric Archaeology, QUB Member, PL&A 1996
  • Jonathan Paul Gascoigne Malthouse

    BSc, PhD(Lond 1973, 1977) Professor of Biochemistry, UCD Member, Science 2005
  • JoAnne Marie Mancini

    PhD(Johns Hopkins 1997), MA(Johns Hopkins 1992), BA(Virginia 1990) Associate Professor in History, MU Member, PL&A 2022


Tabhair tacaíocht do thodhchaí an léinn in Éirinn

Make a donation