The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest Academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA

Grants and Awards

The Royal Irish Academy is internationally renowned for its role in promoting excellence in scholarship and recognising achievements in learning. The Academy began providing research grants in 1876, and this legacy of supporting academic researchers in Ireland continues today. Our grants programmes support researchers in developing international networks, undertaking archaeological excavations and fostering academic engagement across a range of disciplines in Ireland and abroad.

Latest News and Events

Grants and Awards

Each year the Physical, Chemical and Mathematical Sciences Committee selects a winner of the Royal Irish Academy's Kathleen Lonsdale Chemistry Prize.

Kathleen Lonsdale Chemistry Prize »

Every year the nine best students of mathematics are awarded the Hamilton prize.

Hamilton Prize in Mathematics »

The Royal Irish Academy awards two RIA Gold Medals every year. The medals are awarded to individuals who have made a demonstrable and internationally recognised outstanding scholarly contribution in their fields.

Gold Medals »

The Royal Irish Academy - Royal Society International Exchange Cost Share Programme is designed to enable international collaboration by providing the marginal costs of research i.e. travel, subsistence and research expenses.

Royal Irish Academy-Royal Society International Exchange Cost Share Programme »

The Royal Irish Academy’s Charlemont Grants Scheme was established in 2007 (formerly known as the RIA Mobility Grant Scheme). It is a high-impact travel grants scheme aimed at early-career postdoctoral researchers.

Charlemont Grants »

The Cunningham Medal is the Academy’s premier award and dates back to 1796. It is awarded every three years in recognition of “outstanding contributions to scholarship and the objectives of the Academy”.

Cunningham Medal »

The US-Ireland Research Innovation Awards are a joint initiative of the Royal Irish Academy and the American Chamber of Commerce, Ireland. 

US-Ireland Research Innovation Awards »

The R. J. Hunter Grants Scheme was established in 2014 using funding generously made available by his daughter, Ms Laura Hunter Houghton, through the Community Foundation for Northern Ireland.

R.J. Hunter Research Bursary Scheme »

The bursary fund, established in memory of the genealogist and newspaper columnist Eoin (‘the Pope’) O’Mahony, provides support for candidates engaged in historical research on subjects of Irish interest.

Eoin O'Mahony Bursary in Irish History »

The National Monuments Service (NMS) of the Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht has allocated a fund for directed research into the archaeology of the Brú na Bóinne and Skellig Michíl World Heritage Sites and also those sites on Ireland’s Tentative List for which a Technical Evaluation has been satisfactorily concluded.

Directed Archaeological Research for World Heritage Sites »

The Royal Irish Academy runs an annual Archaeology Research Grants Scheme in partnership with the National Monuments Service (Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht). The objective of this scheme is to fund research projects in Irish archaeology, which provide a significant and original contribution to archaeological knowledge.

Archaeology Research Grants »

The Academy has a long association with the funding of archaeological excavation and field research in Ireland. Since 1970 the RIA Standing Committee for Archaeology (previously the Academy Committee for Archaeology) has administered an annual fund provided by the National Monuments Service (Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht).

Archaeology Research Excavation Grants »

The Royal Irish Academy in association with Queen's University Belfast offers radiocarbon dating for up to twelve applicants per annum to be used for the purposes of archaeological research in Ireland.

Archaeology C14 Radiocarbon Dates Scheme »

This fellowship scheme, established in memory of the Ulster Plantation historian, R.J. Hunter, aims to encourage research on the history of the Ulster Plantation (c.1550–1750) and other cognate areas, including patterns of migration from and to Britain and North America.

R.J. Hunter Postdoctoral Fellowship »

The Michel Déon Prize will be awarded first in 2018 by the Royal Irish Academy to a non-fiction writer based in Ireland and in alternate years by the Académie française to a fiction writer based in France.

Michel Déon Prize »