The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA

Irish Studies in International Affairs: Editors and Editorial Board

Irish Studies in International Affairs has been published since 1979 as the leading Irish-based, peer-reviewed, journal in the discipline, with an increasing international reputation and circulation. Each issue includes contributions on a special theme and other original articles related to Ireland and international affairs broadly defined, to include issues such as development aid, conflict resolution, trade and human rights.


  • Professor John Doyle, Dublin City University

Standing Committee for International Affairs and Editorial Board for Irish Studies in International Affairs

  • Michael Breen, Dublin City University
  • John Doyle, Dublin City University
  • Siobhán Mullally, University College Cork
  • Ciarán Murphy, Department of Defence
  • Raymond Murphy, National University of Ireland, Galway
  • Mervyn O’Driscoll (Chair), University College Cork
  • Aidan O'Hara, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
  • Kate O’Malley (Secretary), Documents on Irish Foreign Policy
  • To be appointed, Irish Aid representative
  • To be appointed, Royal Irish Academy representative

Advisory Group

  • Andrew Cottey, Universtiy College Cork
  • Colin Wrafter, formerly Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade


International Advisory Board

  • Professor Michael Cox, Department of International Relations, London School of Economics
  • Doctor Federica Bicchi, Department of International Relations, London School of Economics
  • Professor Patricia Clavin, Professor of International History, Jesus College, Oxford University
  • Professor Christophe Gillissen, L’Université Paris-Sorbonne, Paris
  • Professor Zafar Jaspal, Quaid i Azam University, Islamabad
  • Professor Fiona de Londras, Durham Law School, Durham University
  • Professor Niamh Nic Shuibhne, School of Law, University of Edinburgh
  • Professor John McGarry, Queen’s University, Ontario
  • Professor Brendan O’Leary, Lauder Professor of Political Science, University of Pennsylvania
  • Professor Anjoo Sharan Upadhyaya, Department of Political Science, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi
  • Professor Jon Tonge, Department of Politics, University of Liverpool
  • Professor Priyankar Upadhyaya, UNESCO Chair for Peace, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi
  • Professor Tim White, Department of Political Science, Xavier University, Ohio

Stay up to date with the Royal Irish Academy newsletter

Sign up now