The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA

Michael Murphy

European University Association

Michael Murphy is President of the European University Association and President Emeritus of University College Cork. A graduate of Cork he undertook postgraduate medical training in Dublin and in Clinical Pharmacology at the Royal Postgraduate Medical School in London. He was awarded an MD for research on the anti-hypertensive effects of dihydropyridine calcium channel blockers.

During a decade on the Faculties of Pharmacology, Physiology and Medicine at The University of Chicago, he served as Director of the Hypertension Service,  Chairman of Clinical Pharmacology and was co-founder of the Chicago Hypertension Forum.  Dr. Murphy was appointed Professor of Clinical Pharmacology at UCC in 1992, Dean of Medicine in 2000 and President in 2007.

An expert on cardiovascular therapies (most notably calcium channel blockers and dopamine receptor agonists), Murphy has published some 160 articles, book chapters and editorials and served on editorial boards of six international journals. He has led several  large international clinical trials of interventions to reduce cardiovascular mortality and enjoyed fellowships of the American College of Clinical Pharmacology, of the Royal College of Physicians in Ireland as well as election to the Association of Physicians of Great Britain and Ireland.

Active in many academic organisations in Europe and the United States, Prof. Murphy has served as Chair of the Health Research Board of Ireland, Board member of the Irish Health Service Executive, Chair of the Irish Universities Association, Chair of the Permanent Working Group of European Hospital Doctors and he currently chairs the European Forum on Teaching and Learning.

Support the future of sciences & humanities in Ireland

Make a donation