The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA

2023 Hamilton Prize awarded to nine top mathematical students in Ireland

19 October 2023

On Monday 16 October the prestigious undergraduate Hamilton Prize was awarded to the top nine mathematical students on the Island of Ireland, at a ceremony in the Royal Irish Academy.

This week the Royal Irish Academy awarded the prestigious undergraduate Hamilton Prize for 2023 to the top mathematical students in their final year of study as nominated by their university. The ceremony took place at the Royal Irish Academy on Monday, 16 October 2023, a date that marks the anniversary of famed Irish scientist William Rowan Hamilton’s discovery of quaternion algebra on 16 October 1843. Ibec, who sponsor the RIA Hamilton Prize and Hamilton Day activities, see developing STEM talent as a key role in safeguarding Ireland’s economic future.

The prize ceremony took place in the Academy and was attended by family and friends of the recipients, as well as representatives from their university departments and members of the mathematics community in Ireland. The 2023 Hamilton prize winners are:

  • Ryan Brady, Queen’s University Belfast
  • Matthew Byrne, Maynooth University
  • Edward Clarke, Trinity College Dublin
  • Thomas Patrick Connolly, University College Cork
  • TJ Griffin, Dublin City University
  • Dmytro Lyubka, University of Galway
  • Peter Meehan, University of Limerick
  • Elaine Pidgeon, University College Dublin
  • Dara Vince, Technological University Dublin.

In recognition of their mathematical excellence, the students each received a cash prize of €500, a certificate of achievement and attended an exclusive masterclass with the 2023 Hamilton Lecture speaker, Professor Wendelin Werner, Rouse Ball Professor of Mathematics at the University of Cambridge.

The Hamilton Prize ceremony was followed by the 2023 RIA Hamilton Day lecture presented by Professor Werner on the topic of ‘How surprisingly intricate are random structures?’


(Front row L-R) Peter Meehan (University of Limerick), TJ Griffin (Dublin City University); Professor Wendelin Werner (Hamilton Day Speaker), Professor Pat Guiry (President Royal Irish Academy); Danny McCoy (CEO Ibec); Elaine Pidgeon (University College Dublin); Edward Clarke (Trinity College Dublin). (Back row L-R) Ryan Brady (Queen’s University Belfast), Thomas Connolly (University College Cork), Dmytro Lyubka (University of Galway), Dara Vince (Technological University Dublin), Matthew Byrne (Maynooth University)

Stay up to date with the Royal Irish Academy newsletter

Sign up now