The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA

Delivering Horizon Europe

15 October 2019


PDF icon ALLEA Report: Delivering Horizon Europe

ALLEA statement to the European Commission calling for a strong and well-resourced framework programme guided by principles of excellence, fairness and openness.

Within the frame of open consultations on the European Union’s (EU) next Research and Innovation Framework Programme Horizon Europe, ALLEA, through its Working Group Horizon Europe, has produced the statement “Delivering Horizon Europe”. Considering the European Commission’s Orientations towards the Strategic Plan implementing the research and innovation framework programme Horizon Europe as well as discussions during the recent Research and Innovation Days, ALLEA reiterates its priorities and provides concrete suggestions for amendments to the programme.

In order to achieve better conditions for research and innovation in the EU in the coming decades, and to position European research successfully in a competitive global environment, ALLEA believes it is of vital importance to consider the following points in the implementation process of Horizon Europe:

  • Focus on funding excellence and ‘blue sky thinking’ through successful instruments like the European Research Council (ERC);
  • Continue and intensify support for research mobility through programmes like Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions (MSCA) or ERASMUS;
  • Arrange for fair and equal distribution of funds on the different clusters of Pillar 2 “Global Challenges and Industrial Competitiveness” in Horizon Europe;
  • Follow a broad understanding of innovation which goes beyond technological innovation and hence supports interdisciplinarity, and which recognizes the value of humanities and social sciences in a less technocratic and instrumental way;
  • Establish an independent, critical and continuous assessment of “Missions” in Horizon Europe;
  • Continue “Institutional Partnerships” from Horizon 2020;
  • Ensure Horizon Europe is ‘open to the world’ and allows for broad participation of Associated Countries.


ALLEA is the European Federation of Academies of Sciences and Humanities, representing more than 50 academies from over 40 countries in Europe. Since its foundation in 1994, ALLEA speaks out on behalf of its members on the European and international stages, promotes science as a global public good, and facilitates scientific collaboration across borders and disciplines. Jointly with its Member Academies, ALLEA works towards improving the conditions for research, providing the best independent and interdisciplinary science advice, and strengthening the role of science in society. In doing so, it channels the intellectual excellence and experience of European academies for the benefit of the research community, decision-makers and the public.

About the ALLEA Working Group Horizon Europe

This ALLEA statement has been prepared by the ALLEA Working Group on Horizon Europe. Through its Working Group ALLEA provides input on behalf of the European academies into developing the EU’s framework for research funding and the underlying legislation. The Working Group particularly seeks to ensure that European research funding programmes are developed with the interests of the “Wissenschafts”-community in mind and provide for full representation of all scientific disciplines

Members of the Working Group

  • Revd. Professor John Bell QC (hon.) FBA, British Academy (Chair)
  • Professor Axel Börsch-Supan, Union of German Academies of Sciences and Humanities
  • Professor Graham Caie, Royal Society of Edinburgh (UK), ALLEA Vice President
  • Professor Ali Çarkoğlu, Bilim Akademisi (The Science Academy, Turkey)
  • Professor Alberto Conte, Turin Academy of Sciences (Italy)
  • Professor Marta Estrada, Royal Academy of Sciences and Arts of Barcelona (Spain)
  • Professor Ottmar Ette, Union of German Academies of Sciences and Humanities
  • Professor Andrea Evers, De Jonge Akademie (Netherlands)
  • Professor Tibor Frank, Hungarian Academy of Sciences
  • Professor Gábor Hamza, Hungarian Academy of Sciences
  • Professor Muhamedin Kullashi, Kosovo Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • Professor Maria Marcuzzo, Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei (Italy)
  • Professor Mary O’Dowd, Royal Irish Academy
  • Professor Thomas Olechowski, Austrian Academy of Sciences
  • Professor Simona Pekarek Doehler, Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences
  • Professor Gevorg Poghosyan, National Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Armenia
  • Professor Kerstin Sahlin, Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences
  • Professor Birgitta Svensson, Royal Swedish Academy of Letters, History and Antiquities
  • Professor Przemysław Urbańczyk, Polish Academy of Sciences
  • Professor Krista Varantola, Council of Finnish Academies, ALLEA Vice President

Stay up to date with the Royal Irish Academy newsletter

Sign up now