The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA

Proceedings of the Royal Irish Academy: Archaeology, Culture, History, Literature: Editors and Editorial Board

Proceedings of the Royal Irish Academy is a peer-reviewed journal which publishes original research papers primarily in the fields of archaeology and history, but also welcomes submissions on aspects of culture, including material culture, from the perspectives of other disciplines, as well as submissions in Celtic Studies and literature.


  • Professor James Kelly, School of History & Geography, Dublin City University
  • Dr Tomás Ó Carragáin, Department of Archaeology, University College Cork

Editorial Board

  • Dr Juliana Adelman, School of Histories and Humanities, Trinity College Dublin
  • Professor Seán Duffy, Department of Medieval History, Trinity College Dublin
  • Dr Peter Harbison — Honorary Academic Editor, Royal Irish Academy
  • Professor Tadhg Ó hAnnracháin, School of History, University College Dublin
  • Dr Lindsey Earner-Byrne, School of History, University College Dublin
  • Dr Michael Potterton, Department of History, Maynooth University
  • Dr Gill Plunkett, School of Natural and Built Environment, Queen's University Belfast
  • Professor Graeme Warren, School of Archaeology, University College Dublin


International Advisory Board

  • Dr Toby Barnard, Faculty of History, University of Oxford
  • Professor Thomas Charles-Edwards, Jesus College, University of Oxford
  • Professor John Morton Coles, Fitzwilliam College, Cambridge
  • Professor Vicki Cummings, School of Forensic and Applied Sciences, University of Central Lancashire
  • Professor Sir Barry W. Cunliffe, Institute of Archaeology, University of Oxford
  • Professor Sir Thomas M. Devine, School of History Classics & Archaeology, University of Edinburgh
  • Professor Robin Frame, Department of History, University of Durham
  • Dr Melanie Giles, Senior Lecturer in Archaeology, University of Manchester
  • Professor Michael W. Herren, School of Arts and Letters, York University, Toronto
  • Professor J. Th. Leerssen, Department of European Studies, University of Amsterdam
  • Professor Máire Ní Mhaonaigh, St John’s College, Cambridge
  • Professor Quentin R.D. Skinner, Faculty of History, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Sir David Mackenzie Wilson, University College London
  • Professor Bernard Lightman, Humanities Department, McLaughlin College, York University, Toronto, Ontario
  • Professor Elisabeth Lorans, School of Archaeology, Université François-Rabelais de Tours
  • Alexandra Walsham, FBA, Professor of Modern History, University of Cambridge Fellow of Trinity College


Stay up to date with the Royal Irish Academy newsletter

Sign up now