The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA

Past Members

  • Gearóid S. Mac Eoin

    BA, MA(NUI), DPhil(Bonn) Emeritus Professor of Old and Middle Irish and Celtic Philology, University of Galway , PL&A 1975
  • Amyan Macfadyen

    MA, DSc(Oxon) Emeritus Professor of Biology, UU Member, Science 1980
  • Thomas Francis Malone

    Distinguished Scholar Emeritus in Geophysics, North Carolina State University Honorary Member, Science 1989
  • Patrick McArdle

    BSc, PhD, DSc(NUI) Associate Professor of Chemistry, University of Galway , Science 1998
  • Matthew F McCarthy

    PhD(Nottm), DSc(NUI) Retired Professor of Mathematical Physics, NUIG Member, Science 1987
  • Carmel McCarthy

    BA, MA(NUI 1966, 1968) STL, STD(Fribourg 1972,1980) Emerita Professor of Hebrew and Syriac, UCD , PL&A 2008
  • John McCloskey

    BSc, PGCD, PhD. Chair in Natural Hazards Science, Edinburgh , Science 2012
  • John Joseph McGarvey

    BSc(QUB 1960), PhD(QUB 1964). CChem Emeritus Professor of Chemistry, Visiting Research Professor, School of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering and Centre for Experimental Medicine, QUB , Science 2012
  • Michael Anthony McKervey

    BSc, PhD, DSc(QUB 1961, 1964, 1972) Director, Almac Sciences Ltd , Science 1983
  • Thomas Brian Hamilton McMurry

    MA, PhD, ScD(Dubl) Retired Professor of Organic Chemistry, TCD Member, Science 1959
  • Elizabeth Marian Meehan

    BA(Sussex 1976), DPhil(Oxon). FRSA Emerita Professor of Law and Former Director, Institute of Governance, QUB Member, PL&A 2002
  • Arvids Leons Metnieks

    PhD(Dubl) Former Research Associate, School of Cosmic Physics, DIAS , Science 1962
  • Benjamin Lawrence Moiseiwitsch

    BSc, PhD(Lond) Emeritus Professor of Mathematics, QUB Member, Science 1969
  • John J Moore

    DSc(NUI) Lecturer in Theology. Former Professor of Botany, UCD , Science 1967
  • Cathleen Synge Morawetz

    Professor Emerita of Mathematics, Courant Institute, New York University Honorary Member, Science 2000

Support the future of sciences & humanities in Ireland

Make a donation