Michel Déon Prize

The Michel Déon Prize was founded in 2018. It is a joint prize awarded in alternate years by the Royal Irish Academy (funded by the Department of Foreign Affairs) in Ireland and the Académie française in France in memory of the French writer Michel Déon (1919-2016) who made the West of Ireland his home. The winning author gets a prize of €10,000 and the honour of visiting the other country to deliver the Michel Déon Lecture the following year.

In December 2018 the Royal Irish Academy awarded the inaugural non-fiction prize to historian Breandán MacSuibhne for his book 'The End of Outrage: Post-Famine Adjustment in Rural Ireland' and he delivered his Michel Déon Lecture in Paris on 10 December 2019.   On 12 December 2019 the Académie française officially awarded their prize to fiction writer Stéphane Hoffmann for "Les Belles Ambitieuses" . On 29 September the Royal Irish Academy awarded the 2020 prize to Conor O’Clery for his book The Shoemaker and his Daughter (Penguin Randomhouse). Watch the online award ceremony below. The 2021 winner of the Académie française prize is Mr. François Cérésa. We look forward to welcoming both French prize winners to the Royal Irish Academy in 2022.


Latest news

The Competition

The Royal Irish Academy will next award the Michel Déon Prize for non-fiction in 2022. This prize is funded by the Department of Foreign Affairs

The prize will be awarded to the author of the book that the judging panel consider to be the best work of non-fiction published after 1 April 2020 in the eligible categories. In selecting the winner, the judging panel will be looking for: originality; quality of writing and contribution to knowledge and/or public debate.

The purpose of the prize is:

- to honour the life of Michel Déon (1919-2016) by continuing his work in supporting and championing writing talent
- to sustain the legacy of Michel Déon in celebrating the richness and diversity of cultural experience in Europe

Eligible Non-Fiction Books

Eligible non-fiction books will have been published since 1 April 2020 and may be from any of the following non-fiction categories: autobiography, biography, cultural studies, history, literary studies, philosophy, travel. Authors of any nationality normally resident on the island of Ireland at the time of nomination are eligible. The book must be by a single-author and in the English or Irish languages.

The following categories of book are not eligible:- RIA Publications; self-published books; practical manuals; guides and children’s books. 

Submissions for the 2022 prize will not open until 1 March 2022.

Additional Resources

Want to receive updates on this prize and other news?

Sign up to our newsletter