THE ROYAL IRISH ACADEMY IS IRELAND'S LEADING BODY OF EXPERTS IN THE SCIENCES AND HUMANITIES

The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest Academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA

Filter News

Mary E. Daly honoured at Queen's University, Belfast

Wednesday, 5 July 2017

Mary E. Daly former President of the RIA was honoured on Tuesday 4 July 2017 for distinction in the humanities at QUB where she received an Honorary Degree.

Membership

18 New Members of the Royal Irish Academy

Friday, 26 May 2017

Experts on cryptography, artificial intelligence, obesity and Wolfe Tone.

Membership

2017 Academy Gold Medals: Call for nominations

Wednesday, 19 April 2017

Nominations are now open for the Academy Gold Medals.

Membership, Grants and Awards, Gold Medals

Our new President

Tuesday, 18 April 2017

Professor Michael Peter Kennedy, a world expert in wireless communications, is the 56th President of the Royal Irish Academy.

Membership

T.K. Whitaker MRIA

Wednesday, 1 February 2017

Former President of the Royal Irish Academy dies aged 100.

Membership

Admittance Day 2016

Monday, 27 June 2016

22 outstanding scientists and researchers enrolled as Members of the RIA on Friday 27 May 2016. 

Membership

Call for experts: EASAC working group homeopathy

Tuesday, 14 June 2016

EASAC are seeking nominations for the Working Group on Homeopathy.

Membership, Policy and International Relations

Stated Meeting 2016

Wednesday, 30 March 2016

New officers elected.

Membership

President Michael D. Higgins Honours Women in Science

Wednesday, 3 February 2016

Academy members attend reception at Áras an Uachtaráin.

Membership, Science Committees

Call for Experts

Thursday, 7 January 2016

The Academy is currently inviting suitably qualified MRIA to participate in an European Academic Science Advisory Council (EASAC) Working Group on Genome Editing.

Membership, Policy and International Relations

Pages