Election to membership of the Royal Irish Academy is a public recognition of academic excellence. It is the highest academic honour in Ireland and is open only to those resident in the Republic of Ireland or in Northern Ireland. Those elected are entitled to use the designation ‘MRIA’ after their name.

The Role of Members

Members assist the Academy in its work by providing expert advice for its Council and committees, by representing the Academy nationally and internationally, and by promoting the strategic plan of the Academy.

Among the membership of the Academy are many of Ireland’s leading scholars, the best known of whom include: Joe Lee, historian; Patrick Honohan, economist; Dermot Gleeson, barrister and Attorney General 1994-7; Anngret Simms, geographer; Dermot Moran, philosopher; Peter Sutherland, lawyer and banker; Noel Dorr, former diplomat; Geraldine Kennedy, journalist; Susan Denham, Chief Justice; Paul Bew, political scientist; Luke O'Neill, Immunologist; Rose Anne Kenny, professor of geriatric medicine; Michael D. Higgins, President of Ireland.

Proposals for Membership 2015

Proposals for the election of Members at the March 2015 Stated General Meeting are now closed. The deadline for completed proposals was Tuesday 30th September 2014.

Council Nominated Membership 2015 (CNM)

Council may also recommend for election into the Academy a number of persons of distinction who have made a significant contribution to Irish society and whose election would, in the opinion of Council, be of benefit to the Academy. These members will be elected at the March Stated Meeting 2015. (See by-laws Chapter IV, 5).

Should you wish to make a proposal for a suitable person to be considered for Council Nominated Membership please do so by submitting this short form by 31 October 2014. For more information and to discuss this matter, please do not hesitate to contact Rebecca Gageby by email at r.gagebyAt Symbolria.ie or by telephone on 01 676 2570.

Honorary Membership of the Royal Irish Academy

Honorary Membership of the Royal Irish Academy is awarded to persons who have made major contributions to their academic discipline, but who are normally resident outside the island of Ireland. A candidate for Honorary Membership must be proposed and recommended by at least two Academy Members. Proposals for Honorary Membership are peer-reviewed and considered for election on 30 November each year. Honorary Members of the Academy are entitled to use the letters ‘Hon. MRIA’ after their name.

Interested in becoming a Member?

To view details of RIA Membership timeline, please click here.

The criterion for election to membership is a significant contribution to scholarly research as shown in the candidate’s published academic work. Approximately twelve new ordinary Members are elected each year (equally divided between the sciences and the humanities and social sciences). Candidates must be proposed and recommended by five Members. Elections take place on 16 March each year after a rigorous, peer-reviewed selection procedure.

We will mark the annual election of new Members with a special ceremony on Friday, 29 May 2015, at which they will sign the Members’ Roll at Academy House, 19 Dawson Street, Dublin 2.

For further information on how to become a Member, please click here

Members' Login

This is the login area for Members of the Royal Irish Academy. Please enter your email address and password. Then click the login button.

Forgotten password?

Join Our Mailing List

Please enter your email address below and click join to sign up to one of our mailing lists