The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA


  • Michael Daniel Higgins

    LLD(hc NUIG). HonFTCD President of Ireland Member, PL&A 2011
  • Jacqueline Rhoda Hill

    BA, PhD(Leeds 1969, 1973) Professor of History, Maynooth Member, PL&A 2008
  • Colin Hill

    BSc, MSc, PhD, DSc(NUI 1982,1984, 1988, 2005) Professor of Microbial Food Safety, UCC Member, Science 2009
  • Susan Hockfield

    Former William Edward Gilbert Professor of Neurobiology and Provost, Yale University and President Emerita, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Honorary Member, Science 2010
  • Peter Augustine Hogan

    BSc(1969), MSc(1970), PhD(1972), DSc(1988) Professor of Mathematical Physics, UCD Member, Science 1994
  • Finbarr Holland

    MSc(NUI), PhD(Wales) Professor Emeritus of Mathematics, UCC. Member, Science 1989
  • Celia Victoria Holland

    BA(Dubl 1980), PhD(Cantab). FTCD Professor of Parasitology, TCD. Member, Science 2004
  • Justin D Holmes

    BSc, PhD Chair of Nanochemistry, University College Cork Member, Science 2016
  • Patrick Honohan

    BA, MA(NUI), MSc, PhD(Lond) Former governor, Central Bank of Ireland Member, PL&A 2002
  • Iseult Honohan

    BA(NUI 1971), MA(Georgetown 1973), PhD(NUI 1987) Associate Professor. Political Theory, University College Dublin Member, PL&A 2014
  • Karl Theodore (Theo) Hoppen

    BA, MA(NUI 1961, 1964) PhD(Cantab), FBA Emeritus Professor of History, University of Hull Honorary Member, PL&A 2010
  • John Nicholas Horne

    BA, DPhil. FTCD Professor of Modern European History, TCD Member, PL&A 2005
  • Colum Hourihane

    MA(NUI 1977), PhD(Lond 1983) Former Director, Index of Christian Art, Princeton Honorary Member, PL&A 2014
  • Peijun Hu

    BS, MS(East China University), PhD(Cantab 1993) Professor in Chemistry, QUB Member, Science 2009
  • Peter Humphries

    BA, PhD, ScD(hc Szeged). FTCD Professor of Medical Molecular Genetics, TCD. Member, Science 1996
  • Christopher Alexander Hunter

    BA, MA, PhD(Cantab 1986, 1987, 1989), DSc(hc Ulster 2013). FRS Herchel Smith Professor of Organic Chemistry, Cambridge Honorary Member, Science 2014
  • George Leonard Huxley

    BA, MA, LittD(hc Dubl), DLitt(hc QUB) Adjunct Professor of Mathematics and Ancient Classics, NUIM, Honorary Professor of Classics, TCD Member, PL&A 1971
  • Áine Hyland

    BA(NUI 1966), MEd(Dubl 1975), PhD(Dubl 1982), DLitt(hc NUI 2015), DSc(hc RCSI 2016) Chair of Social Sciences Committee Emeritus Professor, UCC Member, PL&A 2018


Support the future of sciences & humanities in Ireland

Make a donation