Cuireann Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann an taighde chun cinn. Tugaimid aitheantas do scoth taighdeoirí na hÉireann. Tugaimid tacaíocht don scoláireacht agus cuirimid an pobal ar an eolas faoin leas atá le baint as an eolaíocht agus as na daonnachtaí. Creidimid gur gá an dea-thaighde a chur chun cinn, a chothú agus a chur in iúl don phobal. Comhairle dá chuid ball a reachtálann an tAcadamh. Déantar baill a thoghadh agus meastar gurb é an gradam acadúil is airde in Éirinn é.

Read more about the RIA

Awards and Prizes

The Royal Irish Academy recognises excellence and inspires future generations of thought-leaders by awarding prizes and medals.

Our Medals identify and celebrate the achievements and international impact of Ireland’s world class researchers along with individual contributions to the advancement of the Academy itself. While the medal is presented to individual researchers, it is broadly accepted as a recognition of the extraordinary work of institutes, research teams and individual dedication to the advancement of the Academy and its objectives.

Our prizes serve as both recognition and incentive to established and early career researchers to endeavour. They serve to inspire the future leaders in learning in Ireland. 

Latest news and events

Awards and Prizes

Every year the nine best students of mathematics are awarded the Hamilton prize.

Hamilton Prize in Mathematics »

The US-Ireland Research Innovation Awards are a joint initiative of the Royal Irish Academy and the American Chamber of Commerce, Ireland. 

US-Ireland Research Innovation Awards »

Each year the Physical, Chemical and Mathematical Sciences Committee selects a winner of the Royal Irish Academy's Kathleen Lonsdale Chemistry Prize.

Kathleen Lonsdale Chemistry Prize »

The Royal Irish Academy awards two RIA Gold Medals every year. The medals are awarded to individuals who have made a demonstrable and internationally recognised outstanding scholarly contribution in their fields.

Gold Medals »

The Cunningham Medal is the Academy’s premier award and dates back to 1796. It is awarded every three years in recognition of “outstanding contributions to scholarship and the objectives of the Academy”.

Cunningham Medal »

The Michel Déon Prize will be awarded first in 2018 by the Royal Irish Academy to a non-fiction writer based in Ireland and in alternate years by the Académie française to a fiction writer based in France.

Michel Déon Prize »