The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA

Brian Norton MRIA, elected to the position of EASAC Vice-President

13 December 2023

The Academy would like to extend its congratulations to Brian Norton MRIA, on his election to the position of EASAC Vice-President. 

The November council meeting of EASAC (European Academies Science Advisory Council) saw RIA member and Policy and International Affairs Secretary, Brian Norton, elected as a Vice-President for the organisation. The Academy is delighted to support Professor Norton in his new position as we seek to further improve our contribution to the network.

Speaking about his new position, Professor Norton said: 

 'Maintaining relevance in a rapidly changing world is important for a scientific organisation like EASAC. Effective communication will be key to maintaining our relevance as providers of scientific policy advice, this is what we will work for.'

Professor Norton is a Member of the Royal Irish Academy and a Fellow of the Irish Academy of Engineering. He has made significant contributions to the development of solar energy technologies particularly in the context of energy in buildings. He is author of over 200 research papers in major international learned journals with over 8000 citations with a h-index of 47. He is Vice-President and Treasurer of the European Sustainable Energy innovation Alliance and board member of the International Energy Research Centre. He is a Fellow of the Energy Institute and Engineers Ireland, a Chartered Engineer (both in Ireland and the UK) and Fellow, Higher Education Academy. Professor Norton is immediate past President of Dublin Institute of Technology and he also holds honorary chairs at universities in the UK, China and USA.

Fan ar an eolas le nuachtlitir Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann

Sign up now