The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA
  • Síobhra Aiken

    Young Academy Ireland Member Lecturer, QUB
  • John Doyle

    Editor of Irish Studies in International Affairs DCU
  • María Rodríguez Aburto

    Young Academy Ireland Member Senior Lecturer and a Neuroscientist
  • Peter Courtland Agre

    MD(Johns Hopkins 1970) University Professor, Johns Hopkins University Honorary Member, Science 2011
  • Felix Aharonian

    Professor, DIAS Member, Science 2012
  • Wayne Aherne

    Head of Information Technology, Information Technology
  • Louise Allcock

    BSc(Liverpool 1992), PhD(Liverpool 1998) Professor of Zoology, University of Galway Member, Science 2023
  • Tom Arnold

    MA Irish Government’s Special Envoy for Food Systems Member, PL&A 2016
  • Fidelma Ashe

    PhD Professor of Politics and Member of the Transitional Justice Institute
  • John Fuller Atkins

    BA(Dubl 1965), MA(Dubl 1968), PhD(Dubl 1970), ScD(Dubl 1981) Former Director of Science Foundation Ireland, Molecular Biologist, UCC Member, Science 2003
  • Karen Ayton

    Senior Executive Assistant, Programmes and Engagement
  • Maria Baghramian

    BA(QUB 1983), PhD(Dubl 1990) ALLEA Working Group on Trust and Expertise Professor of American Philosophy, UCD Member, PL&A 2010
  • Mark Edward Bailey

    BA, MSc, MA, PhD Emeritus Director, Armagh Observatory Member, Science 2010
  • Michael George Lockhart Baillie

    PhD Professor of Palaeoecology, QUB Member, Science 1991
  • Niamh Baker

    Ulster Folk Museum
  • Connor Bamford

    Young Academy Ireland Member Virologist, QUB
  • Pavel Baranov

    MSc(Lomonosov Moscow State 1994), PhD(Lomonosov Moscow State 1998)  Professor of Biomolecular Informatics, UCC Member, Science 2020
  • Toby Christopher Barnard

    MA, DPhil, FBA, FRHistS Emeritus Fellow, Hertford College, University of Oxford Honorary Member, PL&A 2001
  • Alan Michael Barrett

    BA(Dubl 1989), MA(Michigan State 1991), PhD(Michigan State 1994). Honorary Fellow, Society of Actuaries of Ireland Research Fellow, Institute for Labor Economics, Germany Director, Economic and Social Research Institute Member, PL&A 2019
  • Frank Barry

    BS(NUI 1978), MSc(NUI 1980), PhD(NUI 1983) Professor of Cellular Therapy, University of Galway Member, 2021
  • Frank Barry

    BA(NUI 1976), MA(Essex 1978), PhD(Queen's, Ontario 1985) Professor of International Business & Economic Development, TCD Member, PL&A 2021


Tabhair tacaíocht do thodhchaí an léinn in Éirinn

Make a donation