The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA
  • Denjoe O'Connor

    DIAS Member, Science 2012
  • Sharon O'Connor

    Senior Executive Assistant, Programmes and Administration
  • Nicki O'Connor

    Senior policy advisor, HEA
  • Anne O'Connor

    Vice-Chair of Study of Languages, Literature, Culture and Communication Committee Senior Lecturer, NUIG
  • Liam O'Connor

  • Ian Michael O'Donnell

    MA(Dubl 1988), MPhil(Cantab 1989), PhD(London 1992), MA(Oxon 1993), LLD(NUI 2005), FRHistS, FBPsS Professor of Criminology, UCD Member, PL&A 2015
  • Mary O'Dowd

    BA, PhD Secretary Professor Emeritus of Gender History, QUB Member, PL&A 2010
  • Colin Dermot O'Dowd

    DSc, FInsP, FRMetS, PhD, BSc. Personal Professor of Physics, University of Galway Member, Science 2011
  • Lorraine O'Driscoll

    PhD(DCU 1995), MSc(NUI 1991), BSc(NUI 1989), MA jo(Dubl, 2012), FTCD(2012), FRSB(2020), Vice President for Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Professor of Pharmacology and Biomedicine , TCD Member, Science 2021
  • Anthony Gilbert O'Farrell

    MSc(NUI), PhD(Brown) Professor Emeritus of Mathematics, Maynooth Member, Science 1981
  • Fergal O'Gara

    PhD, DSc Professor and Head of Microbiology/Director of Biomerit, UCC Member, Science 2003
  • James Patrick O'Gara

    BSc(NUI 1990), PhD(NUI 1994), DSc(NUI 2018) Professor of Infectious Disease Microbiology, University of Galway Member, Science 2022
  • Eunan O'Halpin

    BA, MA, PhD. FTCD Professor of Contemporary History, TCD Member, PL&A 2003
  • Daniel O'Hare

    LLD(hc Dubl 1992), DSc(hc UU 1994), LLD(hc QUB 1995), LLD(hc NUI 1999), DPhil(hc DCU 2008), PhD(hc Dubl, NUI, UU, QUB) President Emeritus, DCU Member, Science 1999
  • Finola O'Kane Crimmins

    B.Arch. (UCD 1993), Grad. Dip. in the Conservation of Historic Landscapes (The Architectural Association, London, 1997), Ph.D. (NUI 1999) Certificate in Architectural Practice & Practical Experience (UCD 2000) Chair of Study of Languages, Literature, Culture and Communication Committee Professor, UCD Member, PL&A 2017
  • John O'Keefe

    BA, MA, PhD, FRS, FMedSci Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience, UCL Honorary Member, Science 2018
  • John O'Keeffe

    Chief Executive Officer, The Discovery Programme: Centre for Archaeology and Innovation Ireland


Tabhair tacaíocht do thodhchaí an léinn in Éirinn

Make a donation