The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA

DRI Director announced as one of the judges for the Digital Preservation Awards 2020

16 July 2020

The prestigious Digital Preservation Awards ceremony is the most prominent celebration of achievement for those people and organisations who have made significant and innovative contributions to maintaining our digital legacy.

DRI Director Natalie Harrower has been announced as one of the judges on the international panel of experts for the 2020 Digital Preservation Awards

A new category has been added this year, making six awards in total alongside the DPC Fellowship Award:

  • *NEW* The Award for Collaboration and Cooperation, celebrating significant collaboration across institutional, professional, sectoral and geographical boundaries which have had a demonstrable and positive impact on digital preservation. The award includes a cash prize of £1000, a trophy and certificates.
  • The Award for Research and Innovation, which recognizes excellence in practical research and innovation activities. The award includes a cash prize of £1000, a trophy and certificates.
  • The Award for Teaching and Communications, recognizing excellence in outreach, training and advocacy. The award includes a cash prize of £1000, a trophy and certificates.
  • The Award for the Most Distinguished Student Work in Digital Preservation, encouraging and recognizing student work in digital preservation. The prize includes attendance at an international conference, a trophy and a certificate.
  • The Award for Safeguarding the Digital Legacy, which celebrates the practical application of preservation tools to protect at-risk digital objects. The award includes a cash prize of £1000, a trophy and certificates.
  • The Award for the Most Outstanding Digital Preservation Initiative in Commerce, Industry and the Third sector, encouraging and recognizing the adoption of digital preservation tools and approaches in institutions which are not explicitly memory institutions. The award includes a cash prize of £1000, a trophy and certificates.

The Digital Preservation Awards are made possible by the expertise and support provided by the panel of expert judges. Representing a range of interests from within the Digital Preservation Coalition (DPC) membership and awards category sponsors, as well as the sectoral and geographical diversity of the DPC’s membership, the panel are:

  • Angela Beking, Library and Archives Canada
  • Neil Chue Hong, Software Sustainability Institute (SSI)
  • Susan Corrigall, National Records of Scotland
  • Joanna Fleming, State Library of New South Wales
  • Neil Grindley, Jisc
  • Abbie Grotke, Library of Congress
  • Natalie Harrower, Digital Repository of Ireland (DRI)
  • Neil Jefferies, Bodleian Libraries University of Oxford
  • William Kilbride, DPC
  • Kirsty Lingstadt, University of Edinburgh
  • Roxana Maurer, Bibliothèque Nationale du Luxembourg
  • Sally McInnes, National Library of Wales
  • Sharon McMeekin, DPC
  • April Miller, World Bank Group
  • Laura Molloy, Oxford Internet Institute / CODATA
  • Sheila Morrissey
  • Marcel Ras, Dutch Digital Heritage Network (DHN)
  • Karen Sampson, Lloyds Banking Group
  • Anthea Seles, International Council on Archives
  • John Sheridan, The UK National Archives

The Digital Preservation Awards are free and open to all organisations and individuals. Go to the DPC website and enter before the deadline of 10 August 2020. 

Stay up to date with the Royal Irish Academy newsletter

Sign up now